Brooklyn Living: A Shelf Set

Ever since I first saw this beautiful novelty piece at Harry’s parents house, I fell in love, and when his mom decided it wouldn’t work, we knew it was perfect for our lit-loving new home. After letting it sit on the floor in front of the cookbook shelf for a week, we put it up last weekend and I couldn’t be happier with it.

Along with the small jars and potpourri bird, I put my first edition of Betty Smith’s A Tree Grows in Brooklyn propped up–it only seemed appropriate.

20140105_155819

On the cookbook shelf below is my growing collection of cookbooks, including books like the Roberta’s Cookbook, Gramercy Tavern Cookbook, and The Meatball Shop Cookbook, all from well-known NYC establishments, but also including a Barefoot Contessa set and new staples like The Mac and Cheese Cookbook. I try to cook something new every weekend, and these books all help me find new and interesting recipes to try and adapt for my own use.

Having a cookbook shelf has long been a dream of mine, and this makes me so happy to look at every day. Mostly, though, I’m thrilled that our apartment is finally starting to come together and look like a place where real people live–and it doesn’t hurt if it looks like a decorator passed through, too.

PS The candle burning is made by Sydney Hale – cedarwood and vanilla – and I highly recommend their work.

