big announcements!

it’s been the most beautiful week, hasn’t it? I’ve been mum for about a week, but I have to say that there’s a good reason, and it’s not just that I’ve been enjoying this crisp fall weather.

over the last few weeks, I was working toward getting a job as an assistant with a big publisher, which you may recall is my main goal for moving to the city. I’ve spent most of my life working toward this, and I’d spent nearly two years trying to break into the industry without any success. it was getting to the point where I had considered giving up, but I didn’t, and finally my perseverance has paid off.

so, basically, a very vague description of it is that it’s now my job to know about books that are in the process of getting released, which is kind of my dream job. it’s exactly my dream job, really. I won’t talk about it much here, probably, because that’s not professional, but just know that I’ve finished the first week and it was everything I wanted it to be (and more).

but, really, things are pretty amazing for me right now. it sort of feels like everything is just lining up so wonderfully and ideally. still trying to figure out what happened, but I’m more than happy to roll with it and work at it every day so that things keep getting better.

I know that a friend or two of mine have been frustrated lately with the job search (aren’t we all?), but I’ve been thinking about that a lot. when I moved here, I didn’t think I would get my dream job straight out of the gate, but I thought I’d be able to at least get something in my field. clearly, however, that didn’t happen.

it took almost two years, and it’s been a pretty rough two years, but I stuck it out and kept trying and working toward my goal, and honestly, I made it. only now do I feel like I can take a quick breather and relax a little bit, but I’m here.

I mean, if tiny me can make it, so can you.

Screen Shot 2013-09-06 at 10.33.29 PM

