august 2013: what’s in my makeup bag?

 

 

recently I overhauled my makeup bag situation because it was getting a little horrendous. when i was home, i got a new vera bradley smalls case, which is absolutely great and the perfect size.

but!

this is what i currently use to make my face up every day:

  • urban decay naked eye palette (original)
  • smashbox camera ready bbcream
  • smashbox photo finish color correcting primer
  • smashbox halo face powder + kabuki brush
  • benefit they’re real! mascara
  • benefit watts up eye primer
  • tarte skinny smoldereyes eye liner (onyx)
  • soap & glory sexy motherpucker xl lip plumper

in addition, I usually carry around this essie sheer bliss polish, because you never know when you might need a quick easy touch up, and nail polish can actually do a whole lot for you in a pinch.

I recently bought the full size they’re real! mascara from benefit because it was part of the sephora birthday package, and when my current full size mascara ran out, I went out immediately and bought this one. it’s really great, you guys. my lashes are naturally long and curled (I know, it’s a blessing), so this just adds volume and I really love it.

makeup2

makeup

also, I’ve gotten really into lipsticks over the last year, and these three are my main colors:

  • maybelline 14-hr super stay lipstick (continuous cranberry)
  • chanel rouge coco shine (candeur)
  • lipstick queen (red sinner)

each one is just different enough that one of them is pretty much always perfect for what I need.

IMG_4676

4 thoughts on “august 2013: what’s in my makeup bag?

  1. I’m seriously so excited for my birthday JUST so that I get a sample of They’re Real!! Also, I’m curious about how you use your Naked palette. I basically use Sin, Naked, and Buck every day but am trying to switch it up! I love mine, but am REALLY tempted to ask for the Naked 2 for my birthday, which doesn’t really make sense considering I only use three colors in the original. πŸ™‚ Also, just FYI, I have the Naked Basics and am not really impressed with it. I don’t know if it’s just my eye chemistry or that I use UD’s eye primer, but the colors look kind of chalky and don’t stay true to color in the pan.

    Anddddd I could talk makeup all day long. I’ll stop now! πŸ™‚

    • YES! They’re Real! is a really amazing mascara. I love it so much.

      I only use a few colors of my Naked palette daily, but I change them up depending on the colors I’m wearing and the look I’m going for. I’m assuming I’ll have to tone it down a bit with the glitter colors now that I’ll be in the office every day, but we’ll see. It was really hard to choose between Naked and Naked II, but I decided the original was better for everyday, I think (this was, like, six months ago).

      I haven’t seen the Naked Basics in person, but I like blending the glitter colors in with the more basic colors, so I think I’ll probably stick with the regular palette.

      Let’s talk makeup more! I love it!

Comments are closed.