The Trip Home, Part One

I know I’ve been MIA for a few weeks, but I went home for a week at the end of July and things have been so wild here that I haven’t gotten a chance to do too many updates. I have a few posts lined up now, though, about my trip home, and a few other things, so expect the next few weeks to be full of posts.

Harry and I went to Oklahoma City to stay with my parents for a week, and to see all of my friends and family, and to see things, but mostly so that I could really show Harry (who grew up in Manhattan) what it has meant to me for the last 25 years to grow up in the Great Plains. We couldn’t have had a better time, and I can’t wait to visit again.

IMG_4526

But really, it was just the best time. While I spent a lot of time taking pictures and videos of my dogs and cat, my absolute favorite picture is this one I took of my brother Davis and Harry and I at Rudy’s, my favorite barbeque restaurant.

IMG_4554

This picture encapsulates so much meaning to me, and I haven’t gotten it framed yet but I know that I will. It’s just another quick pic that I insisted on taking on this trip (sorry, Harry), but it’s one of my favorite pictures ever. It’s everything that I love. My moments that I get with my brother now are so quick and so fleeting, and now that he’s in high school I feel like I’m maybe missing some great moments, and that’s why I really love this picture.

Anyway, I had the best time, so stay tuned for some pictures and some chat about my visit. I hope you’ll have as good a time as I did.

 

 

