Weekend Escape Upstate

 

As promised, here’s an update from the weekend. Harry’s parents have a house in upstate New York, so we went to spend the weekend away from the city, and it could not have come at a better time. I really needed a break post-move, as you probably remember, and this was exactly what I was looking for.

On Saturday morning, we got on the Metro North with friends Laura and Michelle and headed up to spend Saturday planning details of Laura’s wedding. She’s getting married here in June, so needed to hammer out some last minute details so we can really start making final progress on things, and I would say it was definitely a success.

upstate3

upstate2

Of course, no weekend is complete without some serious relaxing, so before Laura and Michelle left in the evening, we spent plenty of time eating barbecue, sitting around, and just generally enjoying being away from the city for a day.

upstate1

And, of course, when I woke up Sunday morning, this was the view from the deck outside the bedroom, and pretty much my entire day was made.

upstate

 

I had a pretty rough week last week in a couple of ways, but this weekend has left me feeling relaxed, refreshed, and very, very happy with life in general. I feel like now I’m ready for summer, ready for fun and friends and lots of time spent together outside.

