My Move, or An Actual American Horror Story

As some of you know, my lease ended in April of this year, so at the end of the month it was time to find a new place, load up, and make the move. I’ve moved most of my earthly possessions multiple times in my life, and so far have found it to be a fairly innocuous process. Maybe a misstep here or there, but overall all accomplished in one day with time and laughter to spare.

However, this time? That was not the case. We had everything planned out in advance, so it wasn’t a lack of planning or coordination that was the problem. Everything was just off by just enough to make it not work, which I think may have been more frustrating than had something been wrong because it was my own fault.

Harry took a day off work to help me, which honestly I could not appreciate more, and I’m sure I wouldn’t have been able to do this without him. We rented a U-Haul truck, loaded everything up in it with the help of his roommate and my good friend Michelle, and just when we were ready to leave, I found out that I had crossed wires with one of my new roommates and couldn’t get the keys until later that afternoon, after we had to return our U-Haul. So we put most of my things in Harry and Michelle’s apartment (which is two blocks from my new place, so it’s not too inconvenient) and drove to the storage unit where we were going to put my big furniture. Unfortunately, we then had the wrong key, so all of that had to go back and be put in their apartment, too, and the U-Haul had to go back immediately. So we then cleaned my apartment and got everything out, and then quit for the evening.

So really, we got everything out, but just not quite with the timing we’d hoped for, and most of my stuff is still in Harry and Michelle’s living room, to be moved this next week when we have car access. Not ideal, but it really could have been a lot worse, I suppose.

I’ve had better moves, and even though pretty much everything went wrong with this one, I have to say that it wasn’t the worst day. I still got to spend my day with people I love, and we had a good time, even though I was out of my mind with stress. And the good thing is that now I have six months until I have to move again, so I’ll be able to take this and make sure it doesn’t happen again.

I’m able to take a step back this weekend, though, and relax at Harry’s parents’ house in upstate New York, so I’ll be back with a much more relaxed mind, body and soul after the weekend. See you next week, friends!

