It was time for a haircut, wasn’t it?

Normally I wouldn’t blog about something as trivial as a haircut, but I’m also trying to get back into the habit of posting regularly about things that happen in my life. And also I’m pretty excited about this haircut because, uh, I cut it myself.

I know. I don’t really know what I was thinking when I decided to do it, but I just decided to go ahead and cut my own hair. I’ve put it off because I haven’t really been able to afford it, and I figured that my hair was long enough that I could just cut an even length off the end. I’ve been getting my hair cut at a styling school for the last few years, all of college, and so I felt like I’d observed enough technique to be able to give myself a trim. Plus I’ve cut my own bangs for several years, and that’s really easy. No reason to pay to do that when you can just do it in the sink in fifteen minutes.

Well, I cut a few inches off my hair as a trim, then decided it was too easy and I wanted it shorter, so I cut off a few more inches. And so, for the first time since 2007, my hair is shoulder-length.

There are things I miss about long hair, like being able to just throw it in a long braid and go, but at the same time, shorter hair is just such a relief. Somehow I magically cut layers into it (still mystified by that one), and on the whole I’ve found it much easier to take care of. Yes, I have to spend a little more time on it every day, but I like my hair so much better when I can wear it down and I can’t just throw it into a topknot and go. It was always a dilemma because I wanted to spend more time on my hair, but when it was so long, it was nearly impossible because I just don’t have that kind of time right now. However, now that I have shorter hair, the effort is minimal and the effect is so much greater.

Because I’m a giant narcissist, without further ado I present to you pictures of my hair courtesy of self portraits I’ve posted on Instagram in the last few weeks. First, the before:

Screen Shot 2012-12-04 at 5.55.39 PMAnd then, now, three after pictures from the last two weeks:

Screen Shot 2012-12-04 at 5.54.50 PM

Screen Shot 2012-12-04 at 5.54.35 PM

 

In the above one you can also see the new glasses I bought myself for my big Cyber Monday purchase, so I’m just a little bit closer in my transition into grandpa hipsterdom.

Screen Shot 2012-12-04 at 5.54.26 PM

So that’s my haircut! The last picture is what it looks like when I curl it, which I love doing but haven’t had the time to do since it used to take me about 45 minutes to properly curl it up. Now it takes about half that time and looks way better.

So all in all, I’m super pleased with it, and although I probably won’t cut my own hair again unless I’m feeling really desperate, I’m really happy with the way it turned out this time.

 

 

