Post-Thanksgiving Recollections

It’s been an interesting week for me here in New York. I’m creeping up on having been here for a year–it’ll be my New Yorkiversary on December 3rd–and with that means that this was my first Thanksgiving in the city. As with most historical and/or famous things here, the parade is something that New Yorkers don’t attend because it’s long, very crowded, and cold. And really, we spend enough time being crowded and cold involuntarily, so there’s no reason to do it for five hours when you can get a better view and a hot breakfast in bed, right? So that’s what I did, and it was beautiful.

The only downside to it being my first Thanksgiving in a new city was that it was also my first Thanksgiving without seeing almost all of one side of my extended family. Every year since everyone has lived in Oklahoma, we always drive half an hour to my dad’s parents’ house in their small town and spend the day eating, sleeping, watching football, and eating again. Though it was sad this year to not be part of my family’s tradition, I did have a Thanksgiving with friends that included meeting up mid-afternoon to drink mimosas, cook the rest of the food, and eat dinner like it was the last meal of our lives. And then we fell asleep too late and took a cab into Manhattan to work at 4AM on Black Friday, which ended up being more fun than I thought it was going to be. It was early, but we had a good time.

The holiday weekend this year was also host to one of my favorite football games of the year–the OU/OSU Bedlam rivalry game. Though this year wasn’t anyone’s best game, especially in defense, my Sooners came out on top 51-48 in overtime. And even though my roommate is out of town this week for the holiday, we were texting like mad about the end of the game. As I was trying to explain to my boyfriend last night, football in Oklahoma (and places where your teams are good) isn’t just something for people who went to school at the universities. It’s for everyone, and even if you have no more than a very, very passing interest in the rivalry, you have an allegiance of some sort to one of the schools. I know this isn’t news to anyone who’s interested in sports, but the way that it’s ingrained into lives from the beginning in the Midwest is something I find very special. We just really love our sports.

I’ve worked a lot this weekend, but I was able to make time to go see Edward Albee’s Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? with Harry on Sunday afternoon. If you have a chance to see it, I highly recommend it. It’s very long (two intermissions!), but it moves quickly. It’s rather emotionally draining and intense, but if you like plays, you should try to see it if you can.

This year has been full of so many firsts for me, and I couldn’t be more grateful. At times I do get homesick and miss people and things from home, but I wouldn’t trade what I have here for anything. I know it’s a few days past Thanksgiving, but I do have a few things I’m thankful for. More than a few, really, but I’ll only give you some of the most important ones here. I’m thankful for the friends I’ve made, especially those from the last three or so months, for the two jobs I love so much, for the good luck I’ve had in almost every area of life since I moved. But most of all I’m thankful for the sense of self I’ve developed since I moved here. As you know if you’ve been reading my blog for the last couple of years, it’s been a long road of recovery back from severe depression, and the last year has really propelled me into growing into myself and being responsible for adult things. There are times that it has been less than easy, but on the whole it’s been an incredibly rewarding year that has made me grow in ways I never thought possible and taught me so much about being an adult. It is a little weird to have grown up so much in just one year, but I’m really happy with who and where I am in my life right now.

All in all, it’s been a really good time. The last week has been a little sad, but at the same time, I couldn’t be happier on the whole. I hope you all had a really nice first holiday week as we head into holiday season. Enjoy your families, be kind to those in the service industries, and if you’re away from home again this year, like me, then love the family you’re with this season.

currently listening

ben folds five // “video”

[spotify http://open.spotify.com/track/4eqVwoeYN9jUUt3XICraIW]

One thought on “Post-Thanksgiving Recollections

Comments are closed.