A Quick Hurricane Update, For Now

Hey friends, I just wanted to pop in really quickly and give an update on Hurricane Sandy. Late last week it became apparent that this was going to be a real storm and it was coming, and my friends and I began to take precautions. Saturday evening I went to a Halloween party with a bunch of friends that was within walking distance of my apartment, but basically since Sunday mid-day it’s been a lot of weather.

For Halloween, I went as the velocipedestrienne from one of Kate Beaton’s Hark! A Vagrant comic strips. Yes, I know it was way too obscure of a reference, so I’ve gone ahead and included one here for you. I haven’t taken up smoking, but everything else was perfect! I had a blazer on for a while, too, but it got hot inside so I took that off.

So the Halloween party was really fun, but on Sunday I worked for a few hours and then started to build an apartment shelter with my friends in Bushwick. We all live near each other and we weren’t listed in the evacuation zones, so we decided to pool our resources and stay together for a few days. Basically, we’ve stayed inside for a few days and we’re all fine. We’ve checked on all of our apartments today and they’re all fine, complete with power and no damages or broken windows or leaks.

But for as lucky as we are, there are so many people who lost so much. Much of lower Manhattan and Brooklyn are flooded completely, the airports are shut down, and many of the subway tunnels and stations are flooded completely and indefinitely. Basically, I don’t know when I’m going to be able to get back into Manhattan, which is obviously not ideal for work.

If you can, please donate to any number of organizations that are helping with the relief efforts. I know that Disney seems to have overshadowed us a bit today with their Lucasfilms news, but please remember that we had one of the worst storms this weekend that New York and the coast has ever seen, and we’re not going to be able to just bounce back. This is going to be a major process, and it’s not going to be easy for anyone. Just look at this video and pictures below to see what happened just in the last 24 hours.

To keep up with live updates from those here, keep an eye on InstaCane, a site that aggregates photos from Instagram with Hurricane Sandy tags. Lots of silly pictures, but lots of really good ones, too.

In the meantime, since I’m worried about just getting around within the city for the next week or two, I’ve shut down my Etsy for now. Any unshipped orders will be refunded and I’m not accepting orders for now, but I hope to be back up in time for holiday orders. We’ll see–I’ll try to keep posted.

I just wanted to let everyone here know that things are okay here, for me. They’re not great and they’re not ideal, but I’m safe and we’ll see what happens next.

