Life Lately: October 1, 2012

Since I can’t seem to find time to sit down and write a real post lately, here are some quick caps of what’s going on.

working I’m working two jobs right now (plus Etsy!) and about 50-60 hours a week, depending on what needs to get done. It’s a busy life! I love it, though. I feel like I’ve really lucked out with two dream jobs and I could not ask for anything more.

writing Gearing up for this year’s NaNoWriMo and planning to use it to finish the book I’ve been working on this year. One month away! If you’re writing this year, please add me as a friend on the site. I’m a firm believer that nothing pushes NaNo success like friendly competition in statistics, so the more people you have to “beat,” the better!

reading Looking at my Goodreads goal this year, I’m not quite sure I’m going to make it, but I can say that I’ve read some really quality books this year. I’m currently reading both Deborah Harkness’s A Discovery of Witches and I just started JK Rowling’s new book, The Casual Vacancy. What are you reading? Always looking for recs!

listening This one’s easy – I’ve basically been listening to the new Ben Folds Five album, The Sound of the Life of the Mind, on repeat for days and days. It just could not be any better, you know? It’s basically exactly what I wanted it to be in every single way.

watching TV season is back with a vengeance, and as usual, I’m watching pretty much everything that there is to be watched. I was super into the Emmys last weekend and was cheering for Homeland all the way – if you haven’t watched that show yet, you really don’t know what you’re missing out on. It’s definitely better than Mad Men, I’ll tell you that. Remember, ABPW is still going, so if you want our thoughts on TV or you’re interested in sharing your own, click through!

New Yorking Fall is here, and that means wearing jackets and boots without having to be bundled up. I know I keep saying this, but this is the first time I’ve ever really experienced actual fall. Last night I was wearing a chambray jacket over a sweater with jeans and boots, and it was incredibly comfortable. I love this city so much.

Friday night, however, was probably the jackpot of the year. A friend and I got $30 For 30 tickets (an initiative to get people under 30 to go to shows by selling a limited number of tickets for $30) to see Grace at the Cort Theatre, starring Paul Rudd, Michael Shannon, Kate Arrington and Ed Asner. Not only was it one of the best plays I’ve ever seen (Seminar with Alan Rickman holds that spot), they did a special Q&A with the actors afterward about the themes of the play and their characters, which was incredible. I respect all of these actors so much already, and seeing them here was phenomenal.

And did I mention that I stayed at the stage door and met all of them AND got a picture with Paul Rudd? This is the part where I seem less composed, because I have been a massive Paul Rudd fan for many years now, and this is basically the pinnacle of what my life has been building toward. Maybe that’s dramatic, but whatever. I love Paul Rudd more than I love a lot of things, and even though I look like a dingus in this picture, I’m probably going to keep it in my heart forever because this is the greatest thing that’s happened to me in a long time.So what have you been up to lately? Anything fun going on? Reading new books? Listening to new music? Watching new shows or movies? You, my friends and blog readers, are a large part of who I rely on as tastemakers, and I always want to know what you’re up to!

3 thoughts on “Life Lately: October 1, 2012

  1. I stayed up late finishing Unspoken, and now I’m going to be relentless about recommending it to every Veronica Mars fan I know. YOU MUST READ IT. (Not only is it good, but I need company for what’s going to be a long and agonizing wait for the sequel.) (How’s THAT for selfish!)

    Anyway, time to watch Homeland (!!), then maybe think about getting out of bed and prepping for my mini-vacation in the Bay Area.

    xoAVH

Comments are closed.