desert island books

A few days ago, I was on the phone with my mom and she agreed to mail me a couple of my favorite books from home. When I moved, I had to leave literally my entire life’s library of books in their garage, which if you know me, you know that’s something I was really sad about. I’ve been trying to think of a way to get those books here that isn’t just driving them all up here (with my sewing machine and Kitchen Aid mixer and a few other things), which might happen at some point in the next year or so. But for the sake of this post, let’s pretend I’m not doing that.

But really, right now that’s not feasible. So I’m trying to think of which books I own that I really want her to send me. I can only choose a few out of hundreds, so this is a more in-depth decision than I had originally thought.

The more I think about this, the more it feels like one of those desert island challenges. You know, if you were going to be deserted on a desert island for the rest of forever and could only take five books/DVDs/whatever, what would you take? My selection pool is a bit more finite, but it still feels like a pretty big decision. These days, I’m leaning towards something like

  • Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? And Other Concerns – Mindy Kaling
  • American Gods – Neil Gaiman
  • Juliet, Naked – Nick Hornby
  • Water for Elephants – Sara Gruen
  • The Story of Edgar Sawtelle – David Wroblewski
  • The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger
  • The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern
  • Me Talk Pretty One Day – David Sedaris

This is maybe too many books to ask for, but this is my shortlist, right now. I would count all of these books in my favorites, and if you haven’t read them, you really should. If you saw the movie of The Time Traveler’s Wife, the books is about a gazillion times better, just a caveat.

But I can’t decide.

So I’m asking you–if you could only bring five of the books you own with you to the desert island, what books would they be?

Or, say you have a day left–are there any books you’d go out and buy to add to your five? You can’t buy five new books, though. Only, like, one or maybe two.

Or just help me decide?

3 thoughts on “desert island books

  1. 1) How to Survive and Thrive on a Desert Island
    2) Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
    3) Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
    4) Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
    5) Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

  2. 1) Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
    2)-4) The Mark of the Lion trilogy
    5) Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

  3. Oh dear, this is a difficult one. Let’s see. IN NO PARTICULAR ORDER.

    1. Memoirs of a Geisha, Arthur Golden
    2. Stargirl, Jerry Spinelli
    3. This Lullaby, Sarah Dessen
    4. The Witches, Roald Dahl
    5. Bloomability, Sharon Creech

    AND SINCE I CAN BUY TWO BOOKS I WANT:

    6. Death of a Salesman, Arthur Miller (technically it’s a play, WHATEVER)
    7. Water for Elephants, Sara Gruen

Comments are closed.