You are a narcissist. I mean, come on, did you read the previous item on this list? You are someone who is totally okay with spending a lot of time solo. You want to think your thoughts and tell them to people. If you are a writer, and have been for some time, then I assume you know you are a narcissist by now. And if you don’t know it, you are not self-aware and you should work on that because it will help with your writing – again, if you are a writer, you are a narcissist. I honestly don’t know how you couldn’t be – how else do you have the conviction to create stories inside your brain and present them to the world? You have to think a lot about yourself to be able to do that. You need to think you are pretty great and that the world deserves your words and you are totally happy to spend eight uninterrupted hours by yourself because you love yourself and believe that your voice is one that needs to be heard. I’m sorry, but there’s almost no way to separate one from the other – you have to be self-involved to be a writer, and I don’t see much of a way around it. Now, being a narcissist isn’t automatically a bad thing, and it’s because of your inherent narcissism that you write in the first place, but it’s something to be aware of and something, as a writer, you have to come to terms with. I mean, I’m obviously a narcissist – in that very first paragraph I set out why I shouldn’t be writing this list and here I am writing it anyway.

-Annie Stamell for HelloGiggles

Click through to read the rest of her list, Some Things People Don’t Always Tell You About Writing. It’s a great list.

One thought on “

  1. Writers, in general, may be narcissists, but not all writing is the result of narcissistic behavior. For instance, one may be exhibiting narcissistic tendencies when pursuing the need to promulgate one’s opinion, staking one’s claim that his or her input is of inherent value to others. On the other hand, writing can serve primarily as an outlet for those who possess the skill to write, just as a painter or sculptor desires to create but is indifferent as to who, or how many, will have the means by which to critique one’s artwork. I do realize that I have rendered herein an opinion as a result of my effort to define parameters for determining when a writer may, by definition, be self-absorbed. Yet at the same time I am writing as a means to create, providing my inner being an avenue to express myself while remaining indifferent as to whether my words will be read. Thus begs the question: am I a narcissist, or am I an artist?

Comments are closed.