a quick update, since it’s june now.

What’s up with you crazy kids lately? I didn’t mean to take a week or so off from writing, but I’ve been working like a dog lately and it just slipped my mind. Since I’ve got a couple of jobs, I’m working on average about 50-60 hours a week right now, so you can imagine that there isn’t much time left over at the end of the day. It’s worth it right now, though – as a wise someone told me last night, you have to work harder to make it in an expensive city. Work harder, play harder, though, right?

eating: And, you know me, it wouldn’t be a post if I didn’t show you what I’ve been eating lately. Last week I ate the most fantastic grilled cheese at Ground Support Cafe in SoHo, with an iced coffee on the side. I’ve started putting soy milk in my iced coffee lately – it really brings out the flavors of the coffee better than anything else. I know I’m a latecomer to this “secret” but I thought I’d share, anyway.

reading: If you remember, I’m still trucking my way through George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire (aka Game of Thrones) books, but I’m about a quarter of the way through A Dance with Dragons, the fifth book. I recently took a break from them, though, because it started to feel like slogging through rather than reading, and picked up Veronica Roth’s Divergent and read it in three days. Not only was it good to remember that normal books aren’t 1200 pages long, it was so fun to get back into YA and sci-fi. Again, latecomer to the Divergent trend, but it was great and I highly recommend it.

listening: Regina Spektor’s new album, What We Saw From the Cheap Seats, has been on a pretty constant play lately. If you follow me on Spotify, you probably know that. I reworked my Bailey’s Picks playlist recently, so take a listen if you’re interested in what I’m listening to constantly right now.

watching: The second season of Game of Thrones just wrapped up with thrilling conclusion, and I can’t believe I have to wait another year to see some of my favorite events from the series (and sometimes two years, since they’re splitting the third book into two seasons). Most network shows wrapped within the last month, so now I’m spending a lot of time with Netflix and waiting for Breaking Bad to start next month. I’m about to start watching The Wire, which is something I’ve been looking forward to for a long time.

etsyin’: And because you’ve been so patient while I took an unannounced leave from blogging, feel free to use code BEATtheHEAT to get 25% off your order from my Etsy! Lots of new things added this week 🙂 There are four or five pages of items up right now, so browse through and get yourself something nice!

One thought on “a quick update, since it’s june now.

Comments are closed.