For those of you who take caffeine through an IV drip, like me.

So, after we moved into our apartment, my roommate and I did not have a coffee maker. She had a French press, but we found out very quickly that it was the one thing that broke in the Big Move. As addicted to caffeine as we both are, this could not stand. While we were both totally broke from all the expenses that come from moving into a new apartment in New York (hey, no one ever said Brooklyn was cheap), we needed to figure out a way to get our coffee.

Enter the makeshift coffee hand filter system. This isn’t revolutionary and I’m sure we’re not the first people to do this, but believe me, it was fantastic in a pinch. And if you ever want to make a single cup of coffee and you don’t live in the world of the Keurig, this is quick and efficient.

First, get your things together. You’ll need your ground coffee, coffee filters (2), hand strainer, very hot (boiling?) water, and, duh, your mug. Plus whatever creamers and sugars you require.

Quick question: what coffee do you drink?

I’m loaded right now: I have Dunkin’ Donuts hazelnut, Seattle’s Best medium roast, and a hometown favorite, Java Dave’s Snickerdelicious. Seriously, order a bag of that coffee. You won’t regret it. Also, on the right, you’ll see first a pouch of Souljito tea from Fava Tea Company, a gift from lovely Mary, and behind that a bag from Vienna that my dear friend Ali brought me earlier this year.

Turn your water on to heat up, and get your system together now. It’s mildly important to think this through before you get started or you may wind up with boiling water and coffee grounds all over your kitchen counter–not that I’m speaking from experience or anything. I like to put my filters inside my strainer rather than the other way around (though both technically work) just because I feel like it contains the grounds a bit better.

Also, I use two filters instead of one because I buy the super cheap coffee filters that basically disintegrate if you use just one. I’m just saying. Two is better than one.

Then you just pour the coffee into the strainer very slowly – you’re literally recreating what a coffee maker does, but by hand and slower. Be sure you do this slowly, or like I mentioned above, water and grounds everywhere. It shouldn’t take you more than a minute or two to get a full cup, though!

Then you can just trash your filter and grounds, wash off the strainer, and make off like you were never there! Easy as pie, right? Easier, probably, since pies actually take a lot of work.

Anyway, I know this is kind of a no-brainer, but since it’s something that stumped me for a little bit, I thought I’d put it out there. Besides, you’d be shocked how many hits I get for my post on shipping nail polish cross country. Hint: it’s a lot.

But, for the record, we haven’t totally let this habit go – every weekend, we make a big bowl of iced coffee in the fridge by doing this on a larger scale. Using a full size strainer and a large mixing bowl, we let it steep overnight and pour it into our carafes for the next week (but let’s be honest, we both drink coffee like it’s our jobs, so it’s usually only a few days).

And for the days when I don’t feel like making more than a single cup, I feel like this is still going to come in handy.

2 thoughts on “For those of you who take caffeine through an IV drip, like me.

  1. My man is a coffee roaster/barista (aka utter coffee snob!), and I had to laugh when I read this because I sometimes insist on doing things my way, which a lot of times looks like your picture above. You know. Just to be ornery. (:

    • Haha, this is the lowest of low-brow coffee making, but…it’s good in a pinch! I can almost hear baristas the world over scowling at me 🙂

Comments are closed.