DeKalb Market Opening Weekend

Happy Easter! The weather here has been absolutely incredible the last few days – sunny, 70s, just beautiful. And just in time, too, since this was the opening weekend of the DeKalb Market in Brooklyn. Just off the DeKalb or Jay St Metrotech subway stops (only one stop into Brooklyn out of Manhattan, if you’re just visiting and want to come out!), this is a super fun market full of local vendors and food trucks. And you know how much I love a good food truck!

Seriously, though, this is really cool. A lot of the booths are either open-air or within converted shipping containers like the ones you see in this picture to the left. All of the shop owners have painted and decorated to make their containers look like a real mini store. And because it’s all local companies, each store has its own flavor and quirks, plus the people working really know the products – usually because they’re the ones who make them.

Not only is this going to be a staple for fun in Brooklyn this year – it’s open through December! – but I’m also working
part time in the booth for Love of Pretty. This is the company’s first physical presence, and I’m incredibly excited to be a part of it. Right now I’m working on Sunday afternoons, so if you’re free on the weekends, stop by and see me!


Here’s our shop! As you can see, we’re in a half-container, and the store next to ours sells bike accessories for ladies, which you know means I’m now dying to get a bike. I was planning to get one anyway, just so that I can bike places rather than having to walk absolutely everywhere. Now I want a bike so that I can bike to work here (rather than the roundabout train I have to take to get just a couple of miles south), and of course I would love to have a bike basket and a bell from the store next door.

Today was my first day at the booth, and I can already tell that it’s going to be an incredible amount of fun. This market is such a fun, cool idea, and this is only its second year in existence. I’ve never really been to anything like this, and I can’t believe how much fun it was.

Joe Coffee is probably one of my favorite coffee places, and it’s a local, family-owned NYC chain, so I may have jumped in the air a little bit when I saw that they had a booth. They have seriously some of the best coffee I’ve ever tasted, and on a warm afternoon like today, my iced coffee really hit the spot.

For lunch today I had an iced coffee with soy from the Joe booth and a Philly cheese steak rice ball from the Arancini Bros. booth. It seriously could not have been more delicious! While buying my rice ball, I saw that the Arancini Bros. is headquartered in Bushwick, where I live, so you know I’m going to hunt them down. All of the food looked amazingly delicious, though, and I saw a grilled cheese booth, so I’m excited to be able to use this as a fun weekend food splurge – and I won’t even have to go far to find great food!


Today was one of the most fun days I’ve had lately, and I know this is going to be a big highlight of the week for me! If you live in New York, you absolutely have to come check it out – even if just for the food. Definitely fun, and definitely worth it 🙂
2 thoughts on “DeKalb Market Opening Weekend

Comments are closed.