It’s too cold to be the beginning of April, right?

We’ve been having some really bizarre weather in New York this week. Last week it was in the 60s or 70s and I wanted to rejoice because summer was going to be here any day, but the last few days have been bitterly cold. I had brunch with my dear friend Katie this morning (natch, I have a picture of the food, not of either of us – whatever) and I almost swore I saw snowflakes. Okay, not really, but it was definitely in the 40s and spitting rain all day. I know, I know, April showers and all that, but for a brief second I thought we were just going to transition right into summer heat and I was thrilled to death. I haven’t lost all hope yet, though!

This morning, I had the waffle brunch at Kellogg’s Diner off the Lorimer L stop, and Katie had a delicious-looking frittata. We were going to go down to Bedford and just find a random place, but it’s cold and rainy and we know we love this place. Plus we were both kind of bad-tempered zombies before we got some coffee in us, so we figured since this was closer we should just do this. And no regrets! It was delicious, as always.

Sometimes it seems like at least half of my pictures are of food, but, you know, I can’t bring myself to feel any regret about that.

After brunch and some light shopping, I ran back home and have been doing some Etsy work and writing the rest of the day. I don’t know about you, but one of my favorite pastimes is sitting inside near a window while it’s rainy and/or cold outside. I love rain – I just don’t love being in the rain. It was definitely the perfect day to sit inside and catch up on some Mad Men on Netflix (I’m still only in late season three – I know!) and watch the L train go back and forth in the city. It’s supposed to be somewhat warmer tomorrow, so hopefully the weather channel wasn’t lying to me today.

Things are moving right along here, with the apartment and all, but they aren’t quite there yet. The next few weeks should bring some more furniture and stuff, so as soon as I’m able to stuff my suitcases under my bed and not be using them as a quasi-dresser, I’ll take some real pictures for you. Katie saw my apartment today and gave it the official stamp of not-the-worst-apartment-ever, so I’m still feeling pretty good about it.

I hope your weekend is nicer than ours! Have a great April Fool’s – if you’re like me, you’ll avoid people as much as possible because you’re incredibly gullible, but hopefully you aren’t like me and you can enjoy this day like a normal person!

