Life in Pictures, 3/2/12

I know, I’m jumping on that bandwagon, but I have taken a lot of really fun pictures lately and I want to show them off! Besides, New York is so fun – I’m sure you’d rather see pictures than hear me just talk about it.

First, we have a meal from one of my favorite restaurants in Manhattan, Nanoosh. How can you not love a place whose primary dish is hummus? This is a mushroom bowl (okay, a salad, basically), with roasted red pepper hummus on the left and a quinoa side salad on the right. Served with a half-pita for sandwiching (or dipping in hummus), you can’t go wrong.

Next, two pictures of my favorite building in New York City: Grand Central Terminal. I used to spend quite a lot of time here for commuting, since it’s still first a commuter hub train station and only second a tourist destination. It’s so beautiful on the inside, and I love stopping in just to admire the architecture.

Speaking of the commute, one thing that is everywhere in the subway right now is the Mad Men ad campaign, for which I think Don Draper would be proud. However, one thing he might not be proud of is that leaving so much white space surrounding a falling man has led to, uh, some improvisation by street artists. This was the first one I saw, and it was gone hours later when I walked by, scrubbed clean.

More food? I know. You love it. This is from brunch last weekend at 9 Restaurant in Hell’s Kitchen with some ladyfriends, a few from out of town. We had an incredibly fun time, followed by a mid-afternoon snack at the Doughnut Plant in Chelsea.

There are so many adorable dogs in New York. I kind of can’t get over it. This little guy was leashed outside the Doughnut Plant (that same day) while his owner was inside, presumably getting a doughnut, and I had to take a picture. So sweet!

Shortly after this, we went back to my friend Jen’s new studio apartment and I got to meet her new kitty Malta for the first time. She was too adorable. As you can tell from this picture, she was not too pleased at having her photo taken. I couldn’t resist. She made me want to run out and get a cat, although I know I still have time before I’ll be able to afford it.

And, yep, a big part of my day is taking the subway. I took this in Astoria after an Oscars watch I went to last weekend. I absolutely love taking the subway – it’s so much fun and always interesting.

And don’t worry – I’m keeping up with my reading! I just finished A Game of Thrones, the first book in George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series (made into the HBO show Game of Thrones), so I had to get the next one, A Clash of Kings. Changeless is the second book in the Parasol Protectorate series, a set of Victorian steampunk novels centered around herione Alexia Tarabotti. I highly recommend both of these series – they’re very different, but both very engrossing and fun.

It’s great to be in the heart of the Occupy movement, too. If you’ve been a reader here, you know I like to raise awareness for important issues, and while I haven’t had time to be as active as I would have liked, I still managed to get to this concert the other day in Union Square. It was followed by a march that I wasn’t able to be a part of, since I already had evening plans, but this was definitely a spontaneous and fun late afternoon.

And yes, lastly, these are Pioneer Woman’s BBQ Comfort Meatballs. I had kind of a rough day, so I knew that there was nothing that could make the day better like these. It’s been a while since I’ve made them, and I’d completely forgotten how delicious they are. I think I maybe overstuffed myself on dinner last night, but, you know, it was worth it. Nothing tastes better than these, especially if you’re addicted to baby portobello mushrooms like I am and sliced up a bunch of those to throw in, too. Yum!

I hope you enjoyed my picture post! All in all, things are going really well, and New York is just fabulous, as expected. I hope you’re all doing well, wherever you are. If you’re in Oklahoma, hopefully I’ll see you this summer, and if not, then you need to come see me!

2 thoughts on “Life in Pictures, 3/2/12

  1. I love when you update this blog. James and I are going to try and try new foods more. This now officially includes the hummus restaurant.

    • I’m really going to try to write more. I know I always say that, but even if it’s just unloading pictures, I’m going to try to do better!

Comments are closed.