Officially Launching…A Big Picture Window: Small Screen. Big Talk.

I’ve been awaiting this post for quite a while now, and I can’t tell you how absolutely thrilled I am to be able to announce that as of today, I can officially say that my new blog is live and launched! Welcome to A Big Picture Window: Small Screen. Big Talk.

Though it’s been brewing in my head for a while, I knew I wouldn’t be able to successfully launch it on my own. Therefore, I recruited some good friends who I know love television as much as I do. So please welcome Chevy, Caroline and Kailee to the table, as they’ll be writing regularly. I figured for as much television as I watch, I need to be doing something with all of that knowledge instead of letting it just sit in my brain week after week. Here’s a quick excerpt from my What to Expect letter:

When ABPW was just a twinkle in my television’s eye, I knew I didn’t want to write just another episode review blog. Yes, reviews will be posted here, but I want more than that. When I read posts about shows that I love, I always leave wanting a little bit more meat, more references to the past, more speculation with regards to the show’s past. I want a retrospective look at shows that have ended, not just a rewatch. I want more depth when it comes to character analysis – you know, I’d even just settle for a character analysis, because you really don’t see that very often. I want to read more about the shows I love from someone who has watched them intensely for years and who really knows these characters, someone who maybe cares more about what happens to her favorite characters than to some people in real life.

As you can see if you click through, I have some pretty big hopes and dreams for this blog, and if you’re a television fan, I hope you’ll join us.

Click through to explore and check out all of the sections and articles. There are more features coming all the time, and we look forward to posting recaps and commentary of all of our favorite shows. There will probably be some overlap, but I think the four of us have wide enough ranges of interest to cover almost everything. Ideally, we’ll have at least a couple of posts of each type per week, and that may rise or fall depending on the season. However, with some shows like Community and Cougar Town probably getting bumped to summer, it’s looking more and more likely that we’re about to have a full-year run of shows, with an unprecedented break of the typical cable season.

Interested in contributing? Shoot me an email with your interests and/or pitch, and we can work something out. The one thing I’ve really tried to stress in the building process is that I want this to be a fun joint project among friends that can lead to some recently-published social media work and potential writing samples, or it can be just for fun.

What does this mean for Mustard Ampersand? Not much, actually. I still intend to blog here as a personal blog and about different things in my life, as was always the intention, but I wanted a separate outlet for my television writing. That doesn’t mean there won’t be some crossover (and I may crosspost a few things I think are important), but don’t worry – I’ll still be blogging here at least once a week.

Questions? Comments? Let’s hear it! I’m so excited for this new endeavor, and I hope you are, too.

