What I Read in 2011

Since the end of the year is nigh, I thought I’d start making my final posts for 2011. As I’m sure you know, reading is one of my favorite pastimes, and this year I started actively using my Goodreads account in order to keep track of what I read, motivate myself to keep reading, and find new recommendations from friends with similar tastes. I love Goodreads as a social media outlet because it isn’t very time-consuming, and yet it’s incredibly useful with its simple features.

Now, first, a disclaimer: this is not the grand total of the books I’ve read this year, because I just started using this account again in July (I think). So, beyond The Hunger Games trilogy, I have no idea what I read earlier this year, since my memory is a little fuzzy due to reasons. But here we are – the books that I tracked on Goodreads. All links lead to the Goodreads page for the book, where you can see a summary and reviews, and add it to your list.

Basically, I loved every single one of these books. I think I got a decent balance of fiction and non-fiction, including what I read for school in the spring. My absolute favorites were probably Bossypants, The Night Circus and The Marriage Plot, if you’re going to make me choose. However, I’d recommend all of them.

*Designates a book read for my book club. I didn’t list books I’d already read, so that’s why there are a few gaps.

**Non-fiction, actually based on the science from the TV show Fringe. Highly recommended.

What did you read this year? Any standouts? Have you started making a reading goal for next year? Add me on Goodreads!

5 thoughts on “What I Read in 2011

  1. 1) The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern
    2) Bossypants, Tina Fey
    ***3) Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Jonathan Safran Foer
    4) Unbearable Lightness, Portia de Rossi
    ***5) Room, Emma Donaghue
    ***6) The Entire HP Series- AUDIO (I consider that to be a VERY new experience, so I’m counting them), Jo Rowling
    7) The Handmaid’s Tale, Margaret Atwood
    8) Me Talk Pretty One Day, David Sedaris
    9) Harry, a History, Melissa Anelli
    10) Night, Elie Wiesel
    11) Slaughterhouse V, Kurt Vonnegut
    ***12) The Help, Kathryn Stockett
    13) The Time-Traveler’s Wife, Audrey Niffenegger
    ***14) Flowers for Algernon, Daniel Keyes
    15) Just Like Someone Else Without Mental Illness Only More So: A Memoir, Mark Vonnegut

    ***standouts

    GOAL NEW READS FOR 2012 (plus some re-reads)
    1) Hunger Games Trilogy
    2) The Millenium Trilogy
    3) Chronicles of Narnia
    4) A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
    5) The Book Thief
    6) The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

    • Good call on the audio books! I always think that listening to a book is an entirely new experience because it forces you to slow down and listen to each thought, whereas I usually read like it’s a race. And the Harry Potter ones are especially good!

      You NEED to read The Hunger Games immediately. And the rest of the ones on your list, too. You have some good books picked out for next year!

  2. I love seeing what others have read! I have given myself a challenge this year to read 50 books! Right now I’m on book 44… and I have until Dec 31st to finish! I’m in school to be a school librarian, so I feel it is important for me to read all sorts of books 🙂 You can find my list of books (each linked to a review) here: http://viktoriawithak.blogspot.com/p/books-read-in-2011.html

    One of my favorite reads was the YA novel Life As We Knew It. 🙂

    PS- Thanks for playing Secret Santa! Can’t wait to see what you get!!

    • That’s so great! I’m a little embarrassed by how few books I’ve actually read – goals for next year, I guess. One of my friends is in library school and she made it a goal to read 104 books this year, 2 per week, and she’s actually done it, which is amazing. Good luck with your goal, and I can’t wait to know about Secret Santa!

Comments are closed.