Moving to New York, Part Two: The First Day

Wow, what a great first day in New York! When I woke up yesterday morning (and today), it was such an amazingly pleasant surprise to realize that I had actually moved to New York.

So far, everything has been incredibly perfect. I keep waiting for the other shoe to drop because it all seems incredibly ideal, but then I wonder – is this what happens when you follow your dreams? I know not everyone is as lucky as I’ve been lately, and I am so grateful to everyone who’s lent a hand to making all of this happen.

I had the morning off because I was sleeping in (after two hours of sleep in the past forty-eight) and unpacking the rest of my things. Then I met Susan at the train to have lunch in the city, and after that I had some free time. I wandered the city for a while, just catching up on everything and recalling everything from two years ago.

Then, I called my friend Kailee who’s in grad school in the city (but only for a few more weeks, boo!), and she met me down at the 30 Rock Christmas tree. After a few minutes of looking (how hard can it really be to find someone at that tree? very. just fyi.), we found each other and started walking. She’d heard that 30 Rock was filming earlier, so we went to 43rd and 5th to try to catch a sight of anyone famous. No such luck, even after circling back a few times. So we kept walking, and eventually sat in Times Square for a while as she described, in detail, the Quidditch World Cup that took place in NYC a few weeks ago. It was, truly, one of the greatest stories I’ve ever heard. When nerds unite in friendship, it’s a beautiful thing. We ate a quick pizza dinner, and then I decided I should try to take the train back fairly early in the evening.

And then I got home and my boxes were waiting for me! So now I’m only waiting on the box I mailed on Saturday, but I’m not expecting that for at least a few more days.

And magically, I don’t have any pictures. I know. It’s already a disappointment. Don’t worry – there will be many more pictures to come.

All in all, it was a fabulous first day, and hopefully the hint of many more to come. Thanks for everything, New York, and I look forward to so much more!

2 thoughts on “Moving to New York, Part Two: The First Day

  1. “So far, everything has been incredibly perfect. I keep waiting for the other shoe to drop because it all seems incredibly ideal, but then I wonder – is this what happens when you follow your dreams?”
    You know, I kinda think that it is. When you have a dream, you have to work really really hard to get it, and sometimes it sucks and feels like you’re never going to get there, but then when you do, everything is perfect and totally worth it. I’m so happy that you finally got to realize your dream!

    • Thanks so much, Jessie 🙂 So far, everything has been full speed ahead wonderful, and I still can’t believe it. So happy to have had your encouragement along the way! I hope everything is well at home 🙂

Comments are closed.