Catherine Tate to return to The Office, hopefully forever.

Yesterday was a very exciting time for me. First, I became published officially, then I found out that Catherine Tate is for certain returning to The Office this season. If we’re friends in real life, you probably know that I was very upset over the fact that she wasn’t hired on as the new boss; however, at the time she was performing in Much Ado About Nothing in London with David Tennant until September, so I had hoped she might she show up after that. And what do you know?

Yes, that’s right. Nellie Bertram will be back!

According to TV Line,

Tate will reprise her role from last May’s finale as misguided special projects manager Nellie Bertram, who was one of the candidates interviewing to replace Michael Scott (Steve Carell) as the manager of Dunder Mifflin’s Scranton branch (a gig that ultimately went to Ed Helms’ Andy).

According to Office exec producer Paul Lieberstein, Nellie returns to work on a new project and strikes up a “far from professional” relationship with James Spader’s boss man Robert California.

My prediction is that California will kick Andy out of Branch Manager and make Nellie the new one. You know, since he seems to be rather ambivalent about Andy, anyway, and that garden party probably didn’t help. I think this could return The Office to its prime comedy slot, and I can’t tell you how excited I am.

While there’s no indication of any extension beyond the end of the season, I can’t help but be hopeful. Her season of Doctor Who is classified as drama, I guess, but she’s so funny that she brought so much comedy to it. I haven’t seen too much of her Catherine Tate Show comedy, but what I have seen is great.

Here’s one of my favorite clips of her, acting as her character Lauren Cooper in Comic Relief 2007 with David Tennant. There are a lot of Lauren Cooper videos, so lots more to see. She also obviously has a lot more comedy work. I just prefer this one because I’m a big Doctor Who nerd.

What do you think? Did you like Nellie? Are you looking forward to her return?

One thought on “Catherine Tate to return to The Office, hopefully forever.

Comments are closed.