Some news and my annual NaNoWriMo plug

Sorry I’ve been kind of MIA this week – it’s been a pretty busy week in the real world. I moved out, took care of a lot of small responsibilities I’ve been putting off, and generally just kind of wasn’t on the Internet very much.

But, in better news, I’m ordering my iPhone 4, so I’ll be able to get more on-the-go pictures and videos for the blog. I loved my 3G, but that sucker was a tank and it did not take very quality pictures. Excited to get a new phone! Also, I realized when I looked at my account that I’ve been upgrade eligible for more than a year. Whoops. Oh well.

Mostly what I’ve been doing this week is realizing how very much I need to start planning for NaNoWriMo this year. It’ll be my fourth consecutive attempt, and hopefully third win. If you aren’t familiar with NaNo, it’s short for National Novel Writing Month – a 30-day attempt to write a 50,000 word novel. Every November, thousands of writers around the world put forth their very best of worst, or worst of best, and write about 2,000 words a day, come hell or high water.

One of my favorite parts of NaNo are the pep talks written by published authors – many of whom have personal experience with the challenge. This year’s authors include Chris Cleave, Jonathan Lethem, Audrey Niffenegger (!!!!), Brandon Sanderson, Deb Olin Unferth and Erin Morgenstern (author of The Night Circus).

It’s insane, but it’s incredibly, incredibly fun, especially if you know people who are doing it, too. It’s easier the more accountability you have, so having some kind of group, online or in real life, is practically essential.

And you should do it, too. Even if you just have me for accountability. I’d love to hear how you’re doing!

Anyway, I’m winding up for it. I’ve been out of practice of writing regularly for quite a while now, so I’m doing word sprints regularly and just trying to write as much as possible.

It starts November 1st, so you still have a few weeks to plan. And I must advise you to plan. Plan plan plan plan. If you want to succeed, every little detail must be plotted. I know it’s easy to think you have a lot to write about, but trust me – 50k is hard when you have unlimited time. With only a month, it’s near impossible if you don’t know exactly what you’re doing.

Full disclosure: I’m doing a little bit of a cheat. I’m not starting a novel from scratch. I’m going to work on a novel that I’m currently writing, but that has quite a ways to go. I’m going to put forth more better than worse effort for this one, because I fully intend for this to be a legit novel once all is said and done. I’m pretty excited about it. I’m just saying. You’ll be able to read an excerpt from it soon…I’ll let you know when that’s up 🙂

Are you writing NaNo this year? Let’s talk about it! Be sure to add me on the site so we can stay in touch. And be sure to follow me on Twitter once it all gets going – I’ll be updating all the time to keep myself accountable. Link to the right with my tweets!

