What my TV habits say about me: Introduction

Inspired by a post on The Frenemy last night, I’m starting a new series, entitled – obviously – What My TV Habits Say About Me. If you know me at all, I hope you’re prepared for an onslaught of television nerddom and a pretty extensive series about television.

Basically, I’m going to talk about my favorite shows, what makes them my favorite shows, and what I think it says about me as a person that I watch them. Narcissistic as that sounds, I think it’s going to be interesting.

Before we get into the shows (if you haven’t skipped ahead already), I’d like to go ahead and put out my two cents on something. I frequently hear that television isn’t worth it and that it wastes brains. When reading the list below, keep in mind that there are no reality or live shows on it. Not to sound like a purist, but I watch almost exclusively scripted shows, all of which take time, effort, ingenuity, and more than a little hard work. It’s harder to be a TV writer than a novel writer these days (I imagine), and for a scripted show to stay on the air, it has to have viewers and also be good, which isn’t necessarily a requirement for reality TV.

So before anyone gets up in my bidness about watching too much TV, I’d just like to say that I think it’s easily comparable to reading a book. I take just as much out of it, as far as critical thinking, character and plot goes, and sometimes maybe even more. So keep that in mind. You wouldn’t ridicule someone for reading too much, would you? Then what’s the difference here?

I’m just really excited for this series.

And don’t worry – there will be some greatest hits posts at the end. Involving the best shows I’m not watching, the best shows you’re not watching, and what the shows I hate say about me. Anyway, buckle up, because you’re in for the ride. Unless you aren’t, in which case, you can go home and I won’t even make sure you got there safely.

I know. I’m tough nails.

The shows included in this series include but are not limited to:

  • Lost
  • Arrested Development
  • Castle
  • Glee
  • Gossip Girl
  • Modern Family
  • Community
  • Parks & Recreation
  • 30 Rock
  • The Office
  • Grey’s Anatomy
  • Private Practice
  • Bones
  • Fringe
  • Supernatural
  • Mad Men
  • Doctor Who
  • Chuck
  • Firefly
  • Sherlock
Whoa, right? I’m always amazed when I sit down and think about the shows I watch (or have watched to completion). Keep in mind that some of these have ended and I’ve seen the whole show. I’m not totally a crazy person.
There are a few that haven’t made the watching cut yet, but are on the list – including The Wire, Breaking Bad, How I Met Your Mother, The Mentalist, The Big Bang Theory, The Good Wife, True Blood, and Boardwalk Empire, to name a few. And of course all the new shows this fall – there are a couple that I’m pretty excited about. I figure that some of my long-running shows are about to end, so it’s probably time to get invested in some new ones.
 I don’t know about you, but I’m actually really looking forward to this series. I think it’ll be fun and possibly interesting for you and I think I’ll learn some things about myself.
Remember, if you don’t want to miss a post in the series, you can always subscribe to my blog via WordPress or email! Click the link in the doobly-doo to the right and it’ll get you set up no problem.
One thought on “What my TV habits say about me: Introduction

  1. I don’t want to miss this! SHows you should add to the list of “to-watch” (speaking of, we should make a website called “goodwatch”, the “goodreads” of TV.):

    Dexter
    Psych
    Game of Thrones (I haven’t seen it, but it’s on my to-watch list)

    p.s. Breaking Bad just came on Instant Netflix

Comments are closed.