Pottermore!

Really, I don’t need to say anything else, do I?

Last night I received my Pottermore beta test email, and have been in love ever since. Since the beta has been open for about a month, I was starting to get upset that I hadn’t gotten my email yet. It’s random selection from the people who signed up, so it doesn’t matter when you signed up – some people won’t even get their emails until the end of September, right before it opens publicly in October.

I may or may not have even left a voicemail saying I didn’t even want it anymore and I was upset about it. And then I said that I didn’t mean that. But it was incredibly frustrating to see your friends start to get theirs and still not have yours, a sentiment that has been echoed to me as I announced my victory in Pottermore last night.

I’m not going to spoil it for you all here, but just know that you should all sign up. It’s interesting and stunningly beautiful and there’s so much new information, straight from JK Rowling herself. New information about everything, from characters to objects to plot.

So far, the two most exciting things to happen, since I’m in the middle of ‘reading’ book one, are that I bought my wand…

and got sorted!

I’m quite excited!

My favorite part from the very lengthy Ravenclaw welcome message (the Gryffindor one is short!) is this:

But geniuses are often out of step with ordinary folk, and unlike some other houses we could mention, we think you’ve got the right to wear what you like, believe what you want, and say what you feel.

Isn’t that so classic?  I’d been having some doubt over whether I was in Ravenclaw or Gryffindor, but this sealed the deal for me. Every word in the Ravenclaw message rang so true for me. I’m so happy with it.

Some people who got in have had to slightly direct the sorting hat between two houses, but it sorted me straight in. It’s an interesting process, to be sure. You’re asked seven questions, which I won’t spoil for you here, but they’ve been written by Jo herself to put you in the proper house. They aren’t guessable and the answers aren’t clear – most of them have either 2 or 6 answers, some more, some less. It’s all pretty vague, but there must be some sort of rhyme and reason to it.

Anyway, that’s my big announcement, and I’m very thrilled about it all. You can only access the first book in beta, but I think maybe that’s better, so that no one will be too far ahead when it opens in October.

Now, back to the ridiculously difficult task of brewing potions. No wonder Harry hated this class. It’s hard!

PS If you’re in, add me – NimbusSpell138.
4 thoughts on “Pottermore!

  1. I always knew i was a slytherin, and when i was placed in that house, i was like, what did i tell you! Personally, i felt the answers were very obvious to me, i knew which answers would lead me to slytherin.. maybe because im too in touch with the house? Who knows.

    • That’s true – I guess some of them were pretty easy to pinpoint. There were a couple of questions that could have gone any direction, though, I thought.

      Congratulations on getting into your house, Jeyna!

    • Erin, you MUST get on it as soon as it opens in October. It’s amazing and beautiful. It makes more sense if you’ve read the books, but I can’t imagine anyone not enjoying it. Also, WHY haven’t you read the books?? Get on it, lady!

Comments are closed.