On the importance of community in the arts.

As you know if you’ve kept up with me over the last month or so, I’ve been meeting with the Consortium on Monday nights. And I’ve wanted to write this blog post for a while, but I figured I should wait until I actually had something to show for it before I launched into gratuitous chatter.

All through college, I took writing classes – creative writing, non-fiction writing, technical writing. If it exists, I probably took a class on it. And through all of those classes, I was able to get feedback on all of my work from both professors and peers. Due to the classroom structure, I was forced to keep writing constantly, to have new work prepared at least once per week, if not more than once.

But I’m going to be completely honest with you.

I’ve been a huge slacker on my writing in the past year. And I’m not going to try to make myself sound less lazy, because I know that’s part of it, but I think a lot of that is that I haven’t had a group to consistently push me and stay on me about writing. I’ve been able to get by with saying that I’m doing some writing, but I don’t really have much to show for that kind of excuse.

Now, however, I have a reason to be writing. I have goals to work toward – real, tangible goals. I want to see my name in print, and that’s happening here.

I’m writing nearly every day, if not every day. It’s not always a lot, but it’s something. My gears are turning, more than they have in a while, and I’m loving it. I’m pushing myself to think more, and I know I say this about every new project – but the project that I’m working on right now is the best and most fully-formed idea I’ve had in a while.

And – here’s the best part – the Consortium is putting out the first edition of its short story collections in ebook form later this fall. We don’t have an exact release date yet, but I’m doing editing work on it and I’m also going to be published in it. Surprise!

Anyway, I’m really excited about it. And it’s going to be super cheap online, so if you don’t buy it and read it, you don’t love me. That’s not true, I’m sure you will still love me. If you don’t, why are you here?

I’ll keep you updated. Don’t worry. And because I’m probably going to be living and breathing this book until it’s done, like a proper writer, you’re probably going to be hearing about it here. Leaking out of my fingers onto the Internet, pretty much.

So that’s what’s going on with my life lately, and that’s why I think community in the arts (especially writing) is important. I didn’t get as in-depth as I could have, but I doubt you’d have wanted to read pages upon pages of my thoughts on that. What are your thoughts on community? Yes? No? Why?

One thought on “On the importance of community in the arts.

  1. Of COURSE community in the arts is important! Musicians constantly need their egos stroked, their identities fastened to some upcoming something or other. I could go on with this point.

    I’m so proud of you for diving into your writing. I’m sorry if I never pushed you enough. You have a GIFT and I can’t wait to read more of your stuff.

Comments are closed.