Blog Ruts

I bet when I said I wasn’t going to blog every day that you weren’t expecting me to drop off the face of the earth, right? Surprise! Always coming at you from a different angle. Can you believe August is almost over? Isn’t that just wild?

Well, in my defense, it’s been a busy past few weeks. Started a new job, added a couple of outside activities, started writing more – I would say I’m busier now than I have been for about the past year in school.

In an effort to blog more, though, I’m going to start making a  more concentrated effort to theme my posts. I have a lot of ideas about a wide variety of topics, but I’m not totally sure how I want to focus my blog. Since I never initially stated a real theme, though, it’s been hard to pick one now – and I’m not sure if that’s what I even want to do. I’ve found myself just blogging aimlessly, with no real purpose, and that gets exhausting after a while. I’m ready to find purpose in this blog again, but a different purpose than the original. I’m here, I’ve made Mustard Ampersand fairly synonymous with my own name (at least online), and I think it’s time I start making an Internet presence that I’m proud of.

What kinds of things are you interested in reading about, from me? I hear craft tutorials are a pretty big hit on the Internet, and I could certainly throw some of those together, especially with the new projects I’m working on right now. I do plan to do some posts about topics I’m researching in my writing right now.

I probably need to start getting it together for NaNoWriMo this fall, also. If you’re on NaNo, find me here. I may just cheat and continue work on my current work in progress. Actually, I’m almost positive that’s what I’m going to do. I feel like I’m in a good place with it right now, and I really don’t want to put it aside and replace it with a project that I haven’t even thought of yet. That doesn’t really seem like a sound business decision, does it?

I’m also considering doing more book and movie reviews. Since my book club has met twice now, I’ve been reading a lot more – even outside of the book we’re supposed to read. I think being on Goodreads has done a lot for me in that respect, also. Keeping track of how many books I’m reading has really helped me see that I should be reading more than I am.

Anyway, I know this is a pretty short post and I didn’t say a lot, but there you have it. What do you want to know more about? Do you prefer longer, more text-heavy posts, or shorter posts with more visual content? Or some combination of the two?

And most importantly, throwing this out to bloggers – if you find yourself in a blog rut, how do you get out of it?

