In case you were wondering what I’m up to with my writing these days.

My recent involvement with the Consortium has really got me thinking about my writing. As many of you may know (or maybe not, I guess), I majored in English writing and spent a large percent of my time in undergrad writing fiction. And loving every minute of it.

I’ve written three years of NaNoWriMo and always look forward to the new year, including the website redesign that happens every October. It’s honestly one of the highlights of every year for me, so I guess you can take that however you want to.

And I have a couple of half-complete novels, which is kind of embarrassing, I think. I woke up a few months ago and realized I’m that person with several half-finished novels sitting on her hard drive. I always swore I’d never be that person.

The problem with most of my works in progress, though, is that they either are all plot or all character development. I’ve found that it’s really hard for me to strike a balance between the two.

Also, my novels tend to fall into the following settings:

  • Present day, present world
  • In space
  • In the future, in space
  • In the future, present world
I’m not really a historical fiction kind of person. I love to read it, but writing it is a whole other drama. So, naturally, I stick to the future and space. I guess it’s no wonder I turned to watching Doctor Who, right?

My other problem is that I can’t really decide on a genre for myself. Not that I’m trying to limit myself, but I feel like I should be able to nail down what genre my books are each in. And since I can’t, I’m going to chalk that up to them not being focused enough on a genre to fall under a label. Also a problem, right?

I’m still trying to decide what I’m going to do with these novels I have in progress. I like them, I like the characters, but I don’t know if I like them enough to tackle them again. At least, not without a serious detour to change. When I read them now, it’s pretty obvious that I was extremely unhappy while I wrote them, and that’s not really a time in my life that I want to revisit.

I have been working on something this summer that I think I’m a fan of, though, so I think I’m going to try to work on this for a while before revisiting anything else. It’s different from anything I’ve ever written and features both a plot and characters, so that’s an exciting twist on my usual habits. I’ll try to keep you updated. There isn’t much to go on right now, but know that it involves alternate universes and has a slight steampunk bent to it. And some pretty awesome characters, in my opinion. I’m pretty sure this one has some real staying power, and I’m really, really excited about it.

One thing I am also really grateful to the Consortium for is that they’re giving me a reason to write. You might think it would be easier to write once you’re done with school, but if you don’t have a deadline – man, it’s hard to stay focused. I have a short story due in a week, and I’m more than thrilled about it. Of course I haven’t started yet, because I just found this out last night, but it’s definitely on my to-do list.

And right now I’m creeping on part of my friend Jessie Sanders’ manuscript that I’ve read some before, and I know she can see me looking at it in Google Docs, so I should probably go read some in case she notices.

One thought on “In case you were wondering what I’m up to with my writing these days.

  1. haha, yes, I did notice that you were reading my manuscript. My only reaction was, “I wonder if she recognizes some of the old stuff.” And then I went and pulled out my old creative writing notebook and was comparing and was amazed and how it hasn’t changed. I’ve added a lot, but not changed what was there. Anyway, I’m glad we’re motivating you to work on your own writing. I’m always here if you need feedback and/or editing.

Comments are closed.