A quick, scattered, post-HP post – this one spoiler-free.

Wow. Wow.

Wow.

I did say this post would be spoiler-free, so it is, but as an overall general feeling, this movie was as perfect as it could have been. It’s not 100% the same as the book, but if at this point you’re still expecting that, you’re living in a dream world. The books and films are each their own entities, and this epic finale wraps up the film narrative as well as could ever be done.

So I highly recommend this movie, which at this point has a 97% fresh rating on Rotten Tomatoes with 171 reviews. That’s saying something. And Alan Rickman really does deserve every moment of your attention in this film – as do the rest of the actors, but Rickman especially. One thing this film really made clear to me was how centric to the narrative Snape has always been, and how this last installment is so much about redemption, for everyone.

But the most important point I want to make here tonight (this morning?) is that you should never let anyone make you feel uncool for liking what you like. Don’t ever let anyone call you a nerd for being really into something that isn’t cool. I’m not saying that Harry Potter is nerdy or that not a lot of people are into it, because I don’t think that’s the case with anything.

But if you like something, you like it, and don’t let anyone put you down about that. I know that sometimes people give me side eye for liking Doctor Who or for watching as much tv as I do or for any number of little things that make me tick mentally, and I’m at the point in my life where I just don’t really care. Anyone can be a nerd for liking anything, depending on who’s doing the name-calling. I like what I like, it’s not hurting anyone else, and it makes me happy. And that’s what matters to me – and you know, if it matters to me, it will always matter to someone else. Surround yourself with people who love you for who you are and for the unusual things you like, and you will always be happy.

Also, if you have to go to the bathroom in this movie, go right before the boathouse scene with Snape. You know the one I’m talking about. You WILL know it’s coming, and if you’re quick, you’ll have enough time to get out and back before you miss anything good. Just trust me on that one.

More pictures and a spoilerrific post tomorrow, when I’m not absolutely exhausted. Goodnight!

2 thoughts on “A quick, scattered, post-HP post – this one spoiler-free.

  1. It’s so true! That’s what I tell people…if you look at the movies as just that – a series of movies – they all tie together. And they all work. We’d be sitting in the theatre for 10 hours at a time…or had a series of movies that split all the books into multiple pieces…if we wanted an exact movie-replica of the book. But that wouldn’t necessarily make great cinema, would it? πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.