Thoughts on Change

I’ve been thinking about the future of this blog lately, and reading a post this morning by one of my “blog friends” made me realize that it might be time to make some changes around here.

When I started this blog, it was a means of helping myself cope with and recover from depression. It was a ritual, something that I needed to complete daily in order to feel any sort of achievement and productivity for the day. However, as the last six months have progressed, I’ve grown from having to rely on the little things to get through the day to being able to just live my life and enjoy everything. I don’t have to make myself go through the day anymore. I feel like I can just live, and not have to worry about things as much.

And I’m tired of feeling guilty every time I don’t post. Some days there just really isn’t anything to say. I woke up, I worked, I came home, I exercised, I watched some TV and went to bed. Hello – boring! Sometimes I’m just tired and I don’t have the energy to throw together a post – I think any blogger can identify with that feeling. I don’t know how daily fashion bloggers do it – not only do you have to write a post, you have to take and edit outfit photos, and that takes a lot of extra time.

So here’s the new gameplan. I know, I know, I’m switching it up halfway through the year. But, like anything, a little fresh change can bring new life into this project.

I’m not going to post every day. I hope that isn’t a surprise to anyone. If it is, you must be new here. It’s just too much extra effort that I don’t have time for right now.

But I’m still going to try to post several times a week, and about more varied topics. There have been more than a few times lately I’ve wanted to blog about something, but wasn’t sure if it really fit within the parameters I’d set for myself in January. So I took some time off to think, and that time turned into two weeks, and then I realized that if I didn’t start back soon, I was going to get stuck in a rut of not blogging and never go back. So I posted about non-prescription glasses, and it was fulfilling.

So I’m still going to be here, just not every day. And I’m going to post about things that are important to me – because if I’m not blogging about things that are important, then what am I blogging about? Nothing. No one reads blogs about nothing because they’re boring. So this is me, changing everything.

Maybe not everything. But at least a few things.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Change

  1. Girl, I love this plan! I know what it can be like to need something to anchor your day– I’ve been there. This sounds like the perfect direction to take your blog in, and I can’t wait to see what comes of it 🙂

Comments are closed.