Taking a quick writing break just to say,

It seems that, for the first time in probably close to a year, I’ve started to feel connected to my writing again. But it’s all new writing – I don’t feel connected to my old work anymore. And it’s funny, too, because the more I look back on my old work, the more I can see my old problems reflected back at me.

The main villains in my old manuscripts are all reflections of character and of self – villains of depression, of unhappiness, of feeling stagnant, of not knowing what to do or where to go in life. These are all demons that I personally have felt in conflict with at some point in the last couple of years – quite frequently, actually. And honestly, it’s hard to want to go back to those. I see a lot of salvageable character and plot in those manuscripts, but I’m just not sure if I could go back to finishing some of them. There’s just too much sadness there now.

But this manuscript that I started just a few days ago has really taken root in my mind. This may be the first one to come to completion – perhaps not by the end of the summer, as was my original goal, but by Christmas at the latest. This is the first manuscript I’ve started that has been equally plot- and character-centric, rather than being almost entirely one or the other (but mostly usually character-centric). I don’t want to spill too much right now, since I’ve now mentioned it two posts in a row, but I’m just really excited about this one. I think it has real potential. I never saw this being a genre I’d be interested in writing in – but I guess my life and perspectives have changed a lot in the past year.

And because I’m stuck on writing this right now, I’m going to go and do some more work on it. My favorite writing playlists are those that don’t have lyrics – so basically right now I’m listening to a shuffle playlist of Explosions in the Sky and The Non. Any recommendations for good writing music?

PS I don’t know if you’ve stopped by my Etsy lately, but Kevin Boone designed a new shop header for me. I say new like I had one before – I didn’t. But it’s exactly what I was hoping for and I couldn’t be happier with it. I’m working on a few new things to put up – be sure to keep checking back for more news!

3 thoughts on “Taking a quick writing break just to say,

  1. I’m not a writer, but Tchaikovsky is great music-without-words. Also, Chris O’Neil I believe? He transcribes Radiohead (and a few other artists) songs into piano-only arrangements. George Winston is great piano music.

  2. Album Leaf! It’s my go-to writing music. I would also recommend Band of Horses and Bon Iver. Yes there are vocals, but they are really hard to understand, so it’s not distracting…

  3. I like that logo. Good writing music- The King’s Speech soundtrack, American Beauty soundtrack, Mozart.

Comments are closed.