You know it’s going to be a stellar day when…

…you go outside to go to work and one of your tires is completely flat. And it was one of those where I didn’t even see it until I started to back out of the driveway and I heard that unfortunately-familiar plplplplplplplplp before I stopped to get out of my car and investigate.

But after that little bump in the road – pun unintended, but really – the rest of the day was pretty great. I worked all day, and then I went to an event that I’ve been very excited about for a week or so now.

I’m one of the founding members of a book club.

So excited! I’ve been wanting to be a part of a book club for a long time, but the timing has never really felt right. But now that pretty much all of my friends are done with college, I figured this was as good a time as any.

So I’m in a book club with seven sweet friends – Rebekah, Katy, Cara, Talia, Emily, Janae and Karlee. I’ve known some of them for many years and some of them from college, and I know some of them very well and some of them not very well at all. I think we all wanted a good, well-rounded group of people with different experiences who all have a new perspective to bring to the table – and it works that we don’t all know each other that well because we don’t know what everyone’s opinions are going to be before we get to meeting. But we realized tonight that we all have one thing in common – we love to read and we love to talk about reading. It was so hard to keep it narrowed down to a small group – I can’t imagine what torture it must be to pick bridesmaids, if picking members of a little book club is this difficult.

Tonight was just kind of a get-to-know-each-other meeting, just so that we can all know what to expect from each other and to understand each others’ reading tastes.

Katy’s hosting our first meeting at the end of the month, and she picked Jonathan Safran Foer’s EXTREMELY LOUD AND INCREDIBLY CLOSE. I’m personally very excited to read this book, since it’s been on my list for a very long time and I’ve had the best intentions with regards to reading it. And now that I actually have to read it for discussion purposes, I know this is my excuse – if you ever really need an excuse to read a good book.

tumblr_llz8qfX2BP1qzwinzo1_400.png

