[139] the beginning and end of the college era.

This is one of the only pictures I’ve seen of me with my cousins Calli and Brinley that I’ve really thought, “Wow, we really look related.” We don’t have a lot of the same features, but there’s just something here that makes me realize how alike we really look. Or maybe that Calli and I could just about be cut from the same cloth – it’s probably a good thing we grew up hours from each other, or we’d have caused a lot more headaches than we have already.

Today I was fortunate to be able to witness Calli’s high school graduation. My mom and I drove a few hours up to Kansas City this afternoon, and she graduated this evening. It was so great to see her walk across the stage and be the person cheering from the crowd. I did my best to embarrass her publicly, so you know we all had a good time.

And the more the evening went on, the more I started thinking about how she’s entering a phase of life that I have – literally – just left. Because college is such a special time in life. I don’t know if I’d repeat my undergrad experience for anything, but it is definitely a time of life unlike any other. It just feels weird to be exiting this phase of life while she’s just entering it – I really want her to have the best time in college. I know she will.

She’s going to OSU in the fall, which is exciting because it’s such a fun campus – but it also means that I guess I’ll have to really be a Pokes fan now. Don’t worry, I’m not forsaking my Sooner allegiance, but other than Bedlam, I suppose I’ll have to keep my cowboy boots out in support.

I didn’t have very many pieces of advice to give her tonight, mostly because I didn’t think about it until I got here, but this is what I told her:

  • Buy your books online, not in the bookstore.
  • Wear shoes in the shower, no matter how silly you feel. Foot fungus isn’t cute.
  • Just go to class. Half of passing college is going to class.
I’m going to think of more over the summer and have a list of sorts for her, but I’m going to ask you. What do you wish someone would have told you before you started college? What would you have done differently your freshman year?
