[135] summer reading list and a wonderful dream.

I really want to make an alliterative theme for each day. But I think that might be setting my sights a little too high – I don’t think I could keep up with something that strict. I’d forget. But I do plan to at least keep Music Monday and Style Saturday.

I did have the most fantastic dream last night, though. I spent all day trying to remember what it was, and finally I remembered in the shower tonight.

I dreamed that I moved to New York, obviously, and  I was subletting someone’s apartment for a few months while she went home (or to Europe or something, that part is kind of fuzzy). Well, it was the most amazing apartment in the world, and I was paying practically nothing to live in it. She’d left almost all of her things in it, too, so I had all kinds of clothes and shoes and craft supplies to play with for months. It was a three-room apartment, but they were all in a row – smaller bedroom, enormous house-sized room in the middle for all of the closets and storage and everything, and the bathroom on the other end. Looking back, my dream architect may be a bit flawed, but whatever. I spent all of the dream time in the middle room, anyway.

Maybe it’s because I wrote my Style Saturday post right before I fell asleep, or I don’t know what, but the clothing was fabulous. I woke up and was genuinely disappointed – but then, aren’t we usually? A girl can only hope, I guess.

So here we are, to my summer reading list:

  • Finish Portia de Rossi’s UNBEARABLE LIGHTNESS
  • THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU – Jonathan Tropper
  • ABSENCE OF MIND – Marilynne Robinson
  • SCREWTAPE LETTERS –  CS Lewis
  • GOING ROGUE – Sarah Palin
  • JUST LIKE SOMEONE WITHOUT MENTAL ILLNESS ONLY MORE SO: A MEMOIR – Mark Vonnegut
  • EAT PRAY LOVE – Elizabeth Gilbert
  • STARDUST – Neil Gaiman (and just more Gaiman in general)
  • ORDINARY PEOPLE – Judith Guest
  • HANDING ONE ANOTHER ALONG – Robert Coles
  • CHILDREN PLAYING BEFORE A STATUE OF HERCULES – Ed. David Sedaris
  • JONATHAN STRANGE & MR. NORRELL – Susanna Clarke
Reread:
  • WATER FOR ELEPHANTS – Sara Gruen
  • HP & THE DEATHLY HALLOWS – JK Rowling
  • THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE – Audrey Niffenegger
  • THE SECRET HISTORY – Donna Tartt
The only one of these I really feel that I need to explain a little is Palin’s book. My parents have it, and I would just really like to read it. Not because I like her or have any faith in her as a leader, but because people who write books at least have something to say. Not that I’m under any impression that she actually put pen to paper (ghostwriters, what’s up), but at the very least, it might give me a small window into what she wants to be.
My rereads are some of my favorite books of all time. I just can’t get enough of these four. I highly recommend them to everyone.

I think I’m going to reboot my Goodreads account to keep track of everything. Feel free to add me there – I’d love to keep up with you as far as reading goes.

In other news, I’ve been inspired to write a lot more lately. So I’m going to go do some of that, and then go to bed.

What are you reading this summer? What have you read that you’d recommend I add to my list? I’d love to get into some good crime/mystery novels, considering that’s where my entertainment interests seem to lie lately, so I’d be very grateful for tips there, since I have no familiarity whatsoever with the genre.

6 thoughts on “[135] summer reading list and a wonderful dream.

  1. I see Stardust is on your to-read list; have you ever watched the movie? It’s one of my absolute favorite movies! I bought the book a while ago and never read it, so it’s on my summer reading list too.

    And I just started reading Water for Elephants; I saw the movie and loved it and wanted to read the book! Also I usually prefer to read a book before I see the movie version, but apparently I’m backwards on these two in particular, haha. Actually with both movies I didn’t know they were originally books until after I saw the movies.

    • I actually had the same thing with Stardust – I watched it on a plane on PacRim, and only realized when he spoke at the Sigma Tau Delta conference a year later that he had written it. Whoops!

      And YES, Water for Elephants. I still haven’t seen it, which is kind of killing me, but the book is SO good. It actually started as a NaNoWriMo novel, and I think it’s the most successful of all of them (lit’rally, all of them), so…exciting!

  2. Going Rogue didn’t make it onto my list, but you can tell me all about it when you finish.

    I’m in Flowers for Algernon right now- James’s suggestion.

  3. Have you read Margaret Atwood’s The Robber Bride? I just finished it, and I think you’d love it. I am hereby going to suggest it to everyone I meet.

  4. My reading list is waaaaaayyyyy too long to just tell you, so I’m going to add you as a friend on goodreads and you can see what I’ve got going on there. I actually want to read more Neil Gaiman as well, but I don’t know when I’m going to get around to it because our very small Mustang library sucks at selection. They only have Anansi Boys, which is why I’ve read that one.
    Ah, but speaking of crime/mystery novels, how do you feel about historical mystery novels? Because I’m reading an AWESOME murder mystery series set in ancient Rome/Britannia.

Comments are closed.