[122] On Expecting the Unexpected + MM

Today I had my first moment of great unexpectedness. Details aren’t important, but know that I had no idea how to deal with the situation. But I figured it out, and everything went perfectly smoothly (I’m pretty sure). No one said it went otherwise, so I’m just going to assume it was good.

But I’ve been thinking about it the rest of the day, just of how symbolic it was. This is my first real business day stepping out into the world, telling the world I’m ready for anything it can throw at me, and…man, did it beat me to the punch. All evening I’ve been thinking, “Is this what real life is? You think things are going to be one way, and then they’re completely the other way?” I think it maybe is.

But you know, I kind of like that. I don’t want my life to be easy. Easy is boring. Sometimes easy life is nice, that’s true. But if nothing ever challenges you, then you become complacent and dull, and that’s not something I ever want anyone to be able to say about me.

I don’t want to be dull.

I want people to say that I am ambitious, hardworking, and that I reach for my passions and dreams. No matter what I’m doing in my life, I want to be known as motivated and responsible. I want to be a leader and to push my way through to the goals I’ve set for myself.

I know that’s a pretty high standard sometimes, but reaching your own standards is one of the hardest things to accomplish in life, if you set them high. And I’m determined to meet mine.

And for the record and on a completely different tangent, I want you all to know that I have something pretty exciting up my sleeve right now. There is only one person in the world who knows, and her name is Kitty. She’s my crafting go-to guru. There, I’ve already said too much. But I’m hoping to have a fun post for later this week.

Also, I redid the brown in my hair. See ya later, weird 90s red leftover dye! So long, sucka!

This week’s Music Monday is “Carnies” by Martina Topley-Bird. I first heard her on a satellite station at work a few months ago, and have gotten to know her music fairly well since then. It was a tough choice between this and “Baby Blue.”

PS My birthday is on Friday, so…I hope you’re excited. I am. I’m also feeling a little old, but that’s fine. It’s still my birthday! And as a friend of mine says, you celebrate your birthday for as many days as you are old. I hope everyone’s prepared for a 23-day celebration.

One thought on “[122] On Expecting the Unexpected + MM

Comments are closed.