day 121. mayday, mayday.

May 1, 2011, is a day that will be forever remembered in history books and American minds alike. This is the day it was announced that Osama Bin Laden has been killed by US action and confirmed dead, with US possession of the body.

Wow. What a historic moment. Regardless of what happens next, this is an important symbolic moment that will forever change the face of history as we know it. So much of our attention has been placed on Bin Laden’s words and actions over the last decade that this day could be nothing but inspiring and a fulfillment of so many hopes and dreams.

This is one of those moments that’s also hard to reconcile, as someone who prefers pacifist action over violent. Am I happy that one of our enemies is dead? Of course not. As one of my friends posted on Facebook, “Do not gloat when your enemy falls; when he stumbles, do not let your heart rejoice…” (Proverbs 24:17). I am glad that Bin Laden has been stopped, in whatever capacity he was operating when found, but I can’t say I’m glad that he’s dead. I can understand why so many rejoice in the news, but this is one of those defining moments in which we can stop, look back at our moral pillars and try to decide where we’re going to stand.

But this is something I feel is incredibly, incredibly important to note:

So let me say this as clearly as I can — the United States is not and will never be at war with Islam.

President Barack Obama

To post a quote from the NYTimes,

It’s very unclear what’s going to happen at this point. Is this the beginning of the end, or the beginning of a new beginning? No one can know at this moment what’s going to happen next, except those who will take retaliatory action. This does not mean our security will be lessened, as some have said. If anything, it will be exponentially heightened as we prepare for the next step. The best thing we can do now is stay current, keep up with the news, and prepare ourselves individually for what may happen next.

Because 9/11 was not one man. Al Qaeda is not one man. This is not over. We have so much to anxiously anticipate now – there is really no other option but to buckle down and prepare ourselves further. There is so much to think about, so much that has to happen still – this is nowhere near over. We still have so far to go. But this is a step. We’re on the way.

And to bring this a little bit down-to-me, I have to say that I have a few fears about how this is going to affect my immediate future, the next year of my life. As most of you know, my plans are to move to NYC in October. Originally, it was August, but kept getting pushed back for various things I couldn’t miss, so now mid-October is my plan. I do have to say that this is a little bit concerning for me. What’s going to happen in the next six months? There’s no doubt in my mind that there will be some form of retaliation, some form of “impressive” action taken by the leaders on the other side. At what cost will that be? Where will they strike next?

I suppose this would come just in time for me to start making my preparations, now that school is over and done with. Always good to be the most prepared, though, I suppose.

But just for tonight, we can rejoice that one of the most present fears in recent American history is a little bit lessened. Something we’ve been anticipating for years has finally come to pass. And that, friends, is a big moment.

Tonight I can report to the American people and to the world, that the United States has conducted an operation that has killed Osama bin Laden — the leader of al-Qaeda and a terrorist who is responsible for the murder of thousands of innocent men, women, and children.

President Barack Obama

I’m searching for a transcript of the speech, which I guess isn’t available yet. If you find one, please link it here and I’ll add it to the post. Thanks everyone, and have a blessed night.

2 thoughts on “day 121. mayday, mayday.

    • Wow – if he did, I’m even more impressed. I wouldn’t be shocked, but this would be so good for him, in light of all of the recent accusations against him (mostly by Donald Trump, that racist idiot).

Comments are closed.