day 119. i am officially a college graduate.

There isn’t a whole lot to say about today. I woke up, graduated from college, had lunch with my family, took a long nap, and spent the night with family. It was just really great. There wasn’t a single bad moment of today, I don’t think.

First, let me show you a picture of me on the first day of school. I have to tell you a secret. My abilities of having a non-photogenic facial expression have not been lost, to this day. All in all, this is a cute picture. I’m just going to say it. I was cute. But the tell tale facial expression of Concerned Eyes begins here, and does not stop through most pictures taken of me on a momentous occasion.

I mean, are you sure this is the best location? Do I look okay? Is my hair in my face? Am I going to miss the bus? What if the dog comes and gets in my picture? I’m not sure about this bow in my hair. I’m just a little concerned for the situation.

And now, let me show you the best photo I’ve ever taken in my life, one of the few that lacks Concerned Eyes. Joining me is my brother with his It’s Not Justin Bieber hairstyle. He’s pretty dapper.

For anyone who’s wondering, I graduated from Oklahoma Christian University with a degree in English writing, hence the white tassel and trim, and a minor in accounting. The red and black cords signify my membership in (and domination of for two years) Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honor Society.

All in all, I’d say I’m pretty happy with the past five years. There were good things, there were bad things, and if I had to do it over I can’t say I’d do it all the same, but I feel comfortable with what I’ve taken from the experience and I know I’ve been given the tools to do what I want to do in the world.

This is one of my best friends from college, Mica. This girl just gets me. I don’t really know what it is, but we just clicked and fell in love with each other the day we mutually decided we should be friends. She’s just the best. And the best part? Her last name starts with an S, so we got to sit together at graduation. In the front row. That was a little nerve-wracking, but whatever. We got to sit together on the most momentous occasion in college, so that was exciting.


This is me with one of my favorite professors from college, Dr. Agan. She shares my love of snark, Thai, and Gaga. And being in charge of people. We both like that, too, I’m pretty sure. Anyway, I’m going to miss her a lot. I’m sure I’ll still see her around, but it won’t be the same.

Also, it was incredibly windy yesterday. Words cannot describe how windy it was, so I will let this picture show you, even though it very barely does the wind any justice.

Finally, a shot of my mom and me after the ceremony ended. I think this is where I inherited my Concerned Eyes. She’s just the best, though. I definitely couldn’t have made it through the last year without her support, and I was so happy to have her with me.

After the ceremony, my family took me out to eat at Sushi Neko, my favorite sushi restaurant in OKC. And it did not disappoint, as if it could.

I wish I had a philosophical statement to make about graduating from college. I feel like the last year has been a very long prep time for this moment. I’m done with college. I’m an adult. I’ve been waiting for this moment my whole life. I know most people say they miss college so much, and being an adult isn’t that great, but I’m really the other way around. I’ve been waiting my whole life to not have to go to classes anymore. Thrilling, right? Now I feel like I can really relax and start my plans for New York – I’ve made it through the final hurdle, and I don’t have school dragging me down anymore. I’m free to make whatever plans I choose, when I choose them and where I choose them.

This is just truly a great moment for me.

One thought on “day 119. i am officially a college graduate.

Comments are closed.