day 113. the impossible astronaut.

Starting from the moment I got to work this morning, it’s been a Jekyll and Hyde kind of day. I don’t know if that’s the right descriptor – it’s a little too dramatic. But then, is it?

If you’ve ever worked in retail, you know that the days leading up to (and even the day of, if you’re open) major holidays are crazy days. Last-minute shoppers fill the store from start to close. It’s usually a booming day for business, though, which is really nice, especially if you’re in charge for the day.

The day usually goes something like stressed-excited-stressed-excited-stressed-excited and so on, throwing you a break here and again. The neverending lines can stress you out, but then you look at how great your store is doing that day/week and it’s just absolutely thrilling. I can’t tell you how proud I was of everything after the day ended. It was super busy and a lot of work, but the day flew by (power hour, right?) and it was just really exhilarating.

And then I got home just in time for the Doctor Who Rewind and premiere of the new season, with the episode “The Impossible Astronaut.” I don’t want to give any spoilers here, especially since I haven’t even seen the second half of the two-part episode yet (doesn’t air until next Saturday, bah), but I think I’ve found my new favorite show to theorize about. It’s kind of like Lost, except you know (because The Moff has said as much) that they’ve been thinking about these plotlines for years and years, and letting them play out in a wibbly-wobbly-timey-wimey kind of way. Not backwards, not forwards, not sideways, not in any particular chronological order – because that just wouldn’t be the Doctor.

But when I say I have theories, I have theories. Not overarching, extensive theories about the season, because you just can’t do that with Doctor Who – there are literally no limits, no boundaries, so they can throw anything at you and you just have to accept it. But I have theories about the immediate questions. It would be really nice if I could see “Day of the Moon” right now, but I suppose this is my fate (along with the rest of the world).

All in all, a day full of adrenaline

But for now, it’s time to slow the day down to one speed, relax, and head to bed in time for Easter in the (early) morning. Have a happy holiday!

