day 107. national library week.

It’s official. I’m the worst blogger. This past week has just been so busy, I haven’t really had time to sit down and write, and as the backlog of posts grows, it’s harder to find the motivation.

But I do have things to say about the past week, so either tonight or tomorrow, I’m going to post them. Today’s going to be a busy day, so it may not be today, but I will definitely write soon.

For now, I have to get ready for work, so I’m not going to say much. Thirteen days until I graduate!

But I did want to say that it’s National Library Week. So, if, like me, you owe your library some fines, you should go pay them. Or if, like me, you have some overdue materials, you should go return them. I’ve had two books for at least eight months. They probably think I’m never bringing them back. Well, joke on them! I’m going to return them this week, because clearly if I haven’t found the time to read them by now, someone else should be able to read them until I can.

“Tina Fey reveals all, and proves what we’ve all suspected: you’re no one until someone calls you bossy.”

I did buy Tina Fey’s BOSSYPANTS the other day, and I’m absolutely flying through it. It’s fantastic and hilarious. And more than that, it’s inspiring. It’s a book about what it’s like to be a woman in charge in the entertainment industry, and what she did to get there. It’s funny and it’s full of anecdotes, but what you can take away is that what she has done was not easy and there were no shortcuts to getting there and she had to bend a lot of boundaries and fight established -isms to get to the top.

And you know what? I’d say it was worth it.

Finally, to close, here’s one of my favorite quotes from the book so far:

This is what I tell young women who ask me for career advice. People are going to try to trick you. To make you feel that you are in competition with one another. “You’re up for a promotion. If they go with a woman, it’s between you and Barbara.” Don’t be fooled. You’re not in competition with other women. You’re in competition with everyone.

Also, I encourage them to always wear a bra. Even if you don’t think you need it, just…you know what? You’re never going to regret it.

