day 102. the power hour.

Lately I’ve been noticing something at work. Sometimes our sales for the day will be down, but will pick up in the last two or so hours. Sometimes we’ll do more in the last hour than we did all day – on a really slow day, though, because otherwise that’s not very good.

This isn’t exactly news to me. I’ve worked at the same place for almost a year, and it’s almost always been this way – as soon as school gets out and people get out of work, the place fills up.

All of that is good – please, come shopping after you get out of school. Prom, graduation, senior pictures, all kinds of end-of-year activities are coming up, and obviously you need a lot of things to get ready for them. So please, come see me!

That said, back to the power hour.

Usually, we’re pretty exhausted by the end of the day. Even if we aren’t busy with customers, we’re busy doing other things – there’s literally never a dull moment in the store. So by the time the last hour rolls around, usually one of the busiest hours of the day, it’s hard to plaster that smile back on and fulfill everyone’s needs with a full heart.

So I’ve developed a little personal strategy I call the Power Hour.

The last hour of the day, starting at 5:00, is my Power Hour. Even though I’m tired, even though I’ve been walking (usually in heels) for at least five or six hours already, I really push myself to make someone’s day, to help someone figure out a solution to a problem they’re having, to finish that project I may have been dragging my feet on a little bit. The idea is to just steamroll through the rest of the day with a smile on your face and the knowledge that the harder you work, the faster the time is going to go by.

And I have to say, so far it’s working. I write down the sales stats for the hour at 5:00, and then I make a small acknowledgement of the Power Hour, a small promise to myself that this is going to be the best hour of the day. And you know what? If you make it the best hour of the day, it will be.

Do you have any little mental tips or tricks that help you get through the end of the day? What do you do to kick yourself back into gear?

