day 97. purple paisley overload.

Cardi: LOFT; Tank, Skirt, Jewelry: Francesca’s; Shoes: Payless

I liked all of the pictures today. It was really hard to narrow it down to even these few. I did save room for a few bloopers at the end, though. Don’t worry – if you think I can get through a photo session without doing something weird, you thought wrong.

I did find this nifty tutorial on posing, though, so don’t expect me to be so predictably hands-in-pockets next time. I’ll be leaping through the air as if I were leaping through the pages of Vogue. Don’t act like you know my life. You have no idea what I might do next.

This is possibly my favorite skirt of all time, paired with my favorite shoes of all time. I bought those pumps on a whim in NYC in 2009, and they still look almost brand new. I don’t know what it is. Magic shoes, I guess.

One thing I’ve been working on a lot lately is trimming my closet, which is something I’m really not great at. I hope that isn’t a surprise to you. But here are some good tips on slimming your clothes without slimming your style. And not only does this mean getting rid of some stuff, it also means (for me) packing away a few things I know I still want but I won’t need again until the weather cools down a little. And for this, Lifehacker’s tips on packing like a flight attendant can actually come in handy.

And in case you were wondering, here’s Refinery29’s list of spring trend do’s and don’ts.

I don’t have a lot of news today. Just a lot of pictures.

My one big piece of news, however, is that the Ben Folds concert from January – from the snowstorms cancellation – was finally rescheduled for July 7th. I mean, it’s only six months later, but you know, whatever. At least it’s getting rescheduled.

One thing I’ve been thinking about a lot lately is my writing. I haven’t really felt compelled to write on any of my works-in-progress in a while, and I think I’m finally hitting the end of my post-NaNo burnout. It usually hits me a lot earlier in the year – you know, earlier than six months after the fact, but it’s fine.

I think what I’m enjoying most is that the WIP that’s really calling to me is my NaNo from 2009. There are still so many logistics and details to be worked out, but I’m really feeling inspired about it right now and I think I could make some real progress. I’d really like to be able to finish it and have it ready for editing/submission by the end of the summer. Do you think that’s a doable project? I think I can probably do it. It’s kind of scary, but whatever. It’ll be a snap.


And finally, here’s the pop quiz for the day. Which of the following pictures is more ridiculous? I know. It’s a very tough call. In the first one, I imagine I’m trying to fix my skirt, or I could be doing a chicken dance. In the second one, I think I was gesturing at my photographer that her skirt was blowing in the wind.

Choice A is my personal favorite, but they’re both pretty excellent, I have to say.

One thought on “day 97. purple paisley overload.

Comments are closed.