day 95. real future plans.

This is a really confusing time in my life. I’m just going to go right out there and say it. I’m finally, finally, on the brink of graduating, and it’s a little terrifying. People I didn’t even think knew who I was are wishing me luck. Weird, right? Very encouraging, though.

I’m still trying to figure out what I want to do. How I want to organize my personal and professional lives. What my foci should be when I’m not working. I’m finding myself with more and more free time on my hands, and not really knowing what to do with it. Lately I’m crafting, and I like that, but I’d like to move on to bigger projects. Furniture restoration is something I’ve always been interested in, but then, what would I do with it?

But those are all short term ideas and goals. I’m also starting to really think about the long-term.

Plan A is to move to New York this fall. I don’t have a set date yet. After Kayla’s wedding in September, but before it gets too cold up north to move.

I don’t really have a Plan B. I get asked every day what I’m going to do if it doesn’t work out. If I might move somewhere else first to work on saving money (this option doesn’t really seem to make sense to me). If I might just postpone my trip. If I might make different plans.

I probably should come up with a Plan B.

But really, why should I have to? To me, the worst that can happen is that I don’t have enough money and I have to postpone my trip somewhat. Or something wonderful happens for me here (or anywhere else) and that’s where I end up.

And that’s the worst-case scenario, really. There aren’t other plans. This is just what I’m going to do.

So for now, I guess I’ll just sit here and look at my graduation robes hanging on the edge of my bookshelf and think about the fact that in 23 short days, I’m going to be walking across the makeshift stage and shaking the hand of the Angel of OC. I might even have to buy myself a new pair of sparkly heels to celebrate in.

Where do you see yourself in six months?

