day 93. world peace.

It was 90 degrees outside today, which I found fabulous. It was also incredibly windy, which I found discouraging. And the more I thought about it, the more firmly I decided that I’m going to lay out tomorrow after work in the afternoon, get a tan, generally laze about, that kind of thing.

And then I checked the weather.

April Fool’s, it’s going to be 59 degrees! Surprise!

You can’t imagine the irritation. Well, you probably can, if you know me. I’m so annoyed. If there’s one thing I love, it’s warm weather. No, I correct myself. Hot weather. I prefer weather 85 degrees or higher, at all times. Maybe I should just move to Texas, right?

Ha, late April Fool’s on that one. I’ll never move to Texas.

I may, however, move back to Oklahoma at some point. Isn’t this beautiful? You’d think I was driving off on the road to nowhere, instead of just on a street in my neighborhood. It also looks like fall, doesn’t it? Eh. It’s still beautiful.

I watched Miss Congeniality tonight, for the first time in a few years, at least. I found it on a DVD combo pack with Miss Congeniality 2, Two Weeks Notice, and Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood. I already own Ya-Yas, but I figured it was too good of a deal to pass up.

Speaking of good deals, I went to the Borders closing sale on Saturday with Rebekah, and we found a lot of great books. I bought Jonathan Tropper’s THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU, CHILDREN PLAYING BEFORE A STATUE OF HERCULES (a set of short stories collected and edited by David Sedaris), Scott Westerfeld’s BEHEMOTH for Davis, WORDS OVERFLOWN BY STARS (a creative writing book by the Vermont MFA program, one I’ve wanted for about a year now), and WHERE ARE THEY BURIED by Ted Benoit, which, to quote my mom, is “exactly what your dad would have bought.” I’m not going to tell you how much I paid for them, because that is tacky, but it was a ridiculously low amount. If you haven’t gone yet, get over there and get some books. They are a great deal and I know you will find some things you want. They’re closing at the end of the month, they said, so hurry up! They’re also selling all of their fixtures and furniture, if you’re in the market for some good shelving.

This is a small sample of the things I did tonight – travel-themed gift tags. It was very fun. I’d forgotten how much I like crafting. I did a few hours of biology homework in the late afternoon (disgustingly boring), and then I realized I didn’t really have anything to do the rest of the night. Soooo I did some crafts. I hadn’t planned on making gift tags, but there you have it. It was fun. I just really like those bird ocean ones.

And now, because I’d rather just go to bed, I need to use the last bit of my energy to clean up the mess I made. That sounds so responsible. I really just don’t want to get out of bed and step on dried glue and tiny cuts of paper. So, to that!

One thought on “day 93. world peace.

Comments are closed.