day 91. what’s the story, morning glory?

The past few days have been absolutely exhausting. I’m sorry. I know I’ve been slacking. I have a post written in my mind for day 89, so I’ll write that as soon as I post this one.

It’s been a very long day. Fortunately, I don’t work this weekend, so I have a few days to rejuvenate, lay out, do some biology homework, run approximately six point two billion errands, that kind of thing. No big deal. I’m also going to Borders with Rebekah tomorrow (today? Saturday? after the next sleep?) because everything is now 50% off because of the closing. I’m still heartbroken that it closed, but let it never be said about me that I passed up a good deal on books and possibly movies.

Speaking of movies, I rented watched Morning Glory (Rachel McAdams, Harrison Ford, Diane Keaton) for the first time tonight. And I absolutely loved it. If you know me at all, I’m sure you know why.

It wasn’t great filmmaking, that’s for sure. It won’t stand forever in the annals of film history. But it was cute, and it was funny, and it made me laugh a lot and feel good about myself. And that’s what I wanted it to do. So I’m fine with it. More than fine.

It just struck me as a very relevant current/future parallel. No, I’m not 28, and no, I’m not planning to be a producer of a news show. Not at all. Just the whole American-dream-in-NYC feel of it all. I’m moving in the fall, and I’m not moving to be rich and/or famous. If people are really interested in a silly Christian girl who really likes books and television and just being in the world, then I guess I could be both rich and famous. However, I really don’t think that’s going to happen.

I am, however, moving to New York so I can be happy.

I’m not unhappy here. Please don’t think that. The past 15 or so years of my life, that I’ve been in OKC, have been irreplaceable, and the memories I’ve made have been wonderful. It’s just time for me to move on, at least for a while. I won’t say I’ll never end up in this region again – I’ll actually be surprised if I don’t.

But it’s time for a change. It’s time for things to be different. I don’t know exactly when I’m moving. It seems that a few important events have cropped up this fall, and I really don’t want to miss any of them. I’ve already missed important events that I never should have missed, for various reasons, and I don’t intend to do it again.

But it’s going to happen. And it’s going to be great.

Also, I managed to go the entire day without getting pranked, which is a vast improvement over last year. And I brought my coworkers Eileen’s cookies, so I think I built up some good karma for myself. We’ll see!

One thought on “day 91. what’s the story, morning glory?

  1. We saw Morning Glory! I thought it was very cute. Not one for the annals, but yes, really cute.

    I wish you could wait to move to NYC until next summer.

Comments are closed.