day 90. all of these stories of where i’ve been.

Well, this post is about the Grey’s Anatomy musical episode, so if you have no interest in that, we probably aren’t friends. Just kidding. I still want to be friends. But this was very important to me, as far as television goes (which, for me, is kind of a lot). Grey’s Anatomy has been a staple of my regular TV week since freshman year of college, five years ago. What? Seriously? Five years ago?

Anyway. Yes. I’m old.

It’s just one of those shows I’ve grown with and never missed. I know I watch a lot of shows, but few as faithfully as this one. I’m just making myself sound even cooler with every word I type, aren’t I? This is why I’m terminally single, I am sure of it. It’s fine.

Back to the point of this post. This episode just about hit my expectations. I knew not to shoot too high, because a musical episode of a somewhat serious and somewhat ridiculous medical drama couldn’t be an episode of Glee, or any other musical comedy routine.

But really, as you’ll see in my next post, I am a lover of cheesy movies and television. It takes a lot – a lot – for me to consider something unwatchable. For me, unwatchable criteria usually consists of:

  • Will it scare me?
  • Will it scare me so much I’m afraid to turn the light off?
  • Will I still be afraid when I wake up in the morning?

If the answer to more than one of those is yes, I don’t watch it. I’m a big wimp, I know. I’m only a little bit sorry. I just don’t like to be scared!

What I liked most about this episode was the song choice. I have to admit, I was a little – which actually means very – surprised they did not pick an Ingrid Michaelson song. They use so much of her music, and she actually wrote the main song for the season 4 finale. But otherwise, the song choice and the singing was great (at the least, we figured out who can and cannot sing on the show – whoops!).

Of course I immediately downloaded the soundtrack, which is great. I recommend you do the same. It’s only $8 – and it stars a Tony winner, Sara Ramirez. She is just the best. This is the track listing:

  1. Chasing Cars
  2. Breathe
  3. How We Operate
  4. Wait
  5. Runnin’ on Sunshine
  6. Universe & U
  7. Grace
  8. How to Save a Life
  9. The Story

Each of these songs has an incredibly emotional tie to a specific season or moment in Grey’s history. Several of them hail from season three, which I would say was the best of the show. There’s just something about it. Chasing Cars and The Story were both finale songs, and incredibly emotionally involved. Anna Nalick’s “Breathe” played during one of the most breathtaking multi-part episodes of the series, the bomb episodes. All of these songs are just really meaningful.

I’m bummed there isn’t an immediate follow-up episode, but I guess that’s what you get when TV is so scarce and hiatus-y right now before sweeps in April and May. And I’m sorry if you think this was a waste of a post, but if you think that, you probably aren’t my friend. And I like to think that only friends read my blog.

I’m going to leave you with a clip from the end of season 2. If you’re thinking about watching Grey’s and don’t want to be spoiled, don’t watch this. Also, I saw the first two seasons on sale at Target for $20 tonight. Otherwise, watch it. It makes me cry every time – it’s so sad. But it’s also just very good. It was probably the height of Katherine Heigl’s Grey’s stint.

One thought on “day 90. all of these stories of where i’ve been.

  1. I liked parts of the episode. Disappointed at the exclusion of a couple of specific memorable songs. I did NOT like the happy couples montage in the middle of the medical trauma/drama that was happening. Bizarre.

    I MISS THE FIRST 3 SEASONS!

Comments are closed.