day 69 is a little heavy on opinion.

It’s been a very full day. Maybe not. I don’t know. I’ve just felt very busy all day.

I don’t know what I’m really allowed to share or not share, but there’s a big announcement coming up regarding Soundings. For those of you who don’t go to my school, Soundings is our annual student-run literary journal. I was junior editor two years ago and co-editor last year, and believe me, it’s a lot of work. All completely worth it, but I pretty much lived and breathed Soundings with my co-editor Chelsey my second semester.

And so far, it’s looking like all of that hard work paid off. I’ll let you know more later, but…commence the excitement!

Finally, today is a day I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about the strength of feminism. This is about to get a little more heavy than usual. I’m just warning you.

Every day we’re hearing more news about abortion politics and other feminist-related topics. I’m not a political expert nor do I get very involved in political activism, but empowerment of women is something I will always stand behind. It’s an interesting role to find myself in, and sometimes it does cause me some inner crises as I struggle to find my balance between being a Christian and a feminist. It’s hard, and it’s supposed to be.

But this morning in class, someone compared an abortion to the Holocaust, saying, “Well, abortionists don’t think fetuses are people worthy of living, and Hitler didn’t think the Jews were worthy of living, either.” Reader, I tell you, I almost threw my book at him, but I didn’t want to damage the book. Of course it was a white male – someone who clearly lives within his privilege, by all observable accounts.

The only thing that the Holocaust can be compared to is the Holocaust. Abortion is not the Holocaust. It’s just not.

And I’m not going to get into it here, because that would be an extremely long post, but I am pro-choice. I am pro-women. If you’ve ever wondered, now you know. I’m not saying women need to run around having abortions whenever, wherever. There are some limits for me. But we live in a culture that is terrifying for women. The United States patriarchy is dangerous for women. We live in a culture where abused and/or raped women are blamed for what happened to them, which is absolutely wrong. Women are never responsible for being a victim of abuse or rape. No one is responsible for being a victim.

I will support feminism and I will stand with Planned Parenthood, and I will stand with a woman’s right to choose what she does with her own body. If we’re going to talk about American freedoms, women have fought long and hard to achieve their goals, and that battle is far, far from over. And if that’s too political or intense or unexpected for you, I’m not sorry. I will never undermine women to achieve patriarchal gain.

I wish I could say that I don’t think pro-lifers are anti-feminists. I don’t think being pro-life makes you against women’s rights. But it doesn’t make you an advocate of women’s rights, either.

If you actually made it through this far, thank you. This is something very close to my mind and heart, and I appreciate it. And if you disagree with me, that’s fine, too. Everyone has a right to his or her opinion. I know this is a little more intense than what I usually discuss here, but feminism makes me happy. Freedom to choose makes me happy. If I were ever in a situation where I needed those freedoms, regardless of the situation, I would hope that I had fought to achieve them. I think we, as Americans, can all agree that, ideally, freedom is happiness, can’t we? Then I’m proud to support it.

2 thoughts on “day 69 is a little heavy on opinion.

  1. Hear, hear!

    And yes, the Holocaust is just the Holocaust. Abortion does not compare. People say such stupid stuff.

    It’s not about whether or not these babies are born. It’s about what happens when this baby grows up in a noxious environment and the cycle starts all over… It’s about why the uneducated mother did not use a contraceptive. Etc…

    If we could aggressively address some of the poverty and education issues in this country, we would see less abortions.

Comments are closed.