day 68 is lent-tastic and hipstered up.

There are just some days, like today, where I get home from a 9:30-6:30 work day and don’t feel like doing anything except taking a nap and lounging around for the rest of the night. I really did intend to do more when I got home tonight, but I just couldn’t. Leaves a lot to do tomorrow, but it’s fine.

I completely forgot today was Ash Wednesday, also known as the start of Lent. I’ve never really been a big Lent participant, mostly because it’s not included in my particular branch of faith, and it was never a thing with my family. Last year was the first year I really gave it any real thought. I tried giving up sugar/sweets for Lent last year, which went…not as well as I had hoped. I mean, it was mostly fine, but sometimes I broke it, which I think means you messed up. I’m not really clear on the specifics.

That said, I’m giving it another go this year. I didn’t have much time to think about it, since I forgot until I asked a woman at work if she’d like a kleenex to get the smudge off her forehead.

WHOOPS. That was embarrassing.

Like, really mortifying.

Anyway. I started thinking about Lent, and 2011, and if I should try to give something up. It took me a few minutes to even think of something, because I don’t feel like I have a lot of things I would really mind giving up for a month and a half, or however long Lent is. I told you I don’t know anything about it.

But in the end, I decided to give up going out to eat. I seriously can’t even tell you how much money I spend on it every month (although I’m sure my Mint account would be happy to, ugh), especially working next door to Panera. You know it’s bad when the everyday people at Panera know you by sight. Also, by name. I do see them almost every day.

It’s going to be hard to give it up, but I think I’m really going to be happy with this. I don’t think this includes having casual coffee and that kind of thing. I really intended it to be eating out for meals – I just do it way too often. I don’t really know if there are that many spiritual parallels to be drawn here, and although I hate claiming ignorance as my excuse, I might pull one of those. This is more of a personal goal for me – a tangible reminder to rein myself in when I feel like running to Panera or Sonic or somewhere just to grab something to eat. I don’t need to be doing that.

Are you giving anything up for Lent?

PS I also realized today that one of my favorite poses for my outfit pictures is the airplane pose. You know, both arms up in the air, one leg usually up. Just scroll through my outfit posts. You’ll see. I’m sorry I like to pose like a goober. I’m sorry I’m not sorry.

PPS My favorite thing on the Internet right now: Hipster Disney Princesses.

Hipster Belle will always be my favorite.


And in case you thought Hipster Princesses were just for the Internet – they are not. I love everything about this picture and what it represents.

One thought on “day 68 is lent-tastic and hipstered up.

  1. I LOVE THE ARIEL POSTER!

    Also, NO EATING OUT?! We should cook together a lot. James and I have been eating in so much lately, to help budget our money better. I’m going to be trying out some new recipes next week, I think.

    I CANNOT BELIEVE YOU OFFERED SOMEONE A KLEENEX FOR THEIR ASH-HEAD.

Comments are closed.