day 55. six/thirty. rain, rain, go away.

I can’t believe we’re almost a week into the 30×30 already. Isn’t that unbelievable? I feel like it’s just flown by. I may have to make it the 31×30, because I still haven’t made up my pictures from day 2, and now I’m just kind of feeling like I should just try that one again another day. One photo shoot a day is about as much as I can do, friends.

My mom said I look like I’m in the mall in this picture, not in the entryway to a house. I’m not really sure how to respond to that, since it’s her house. The mirrors and glass are cool, though. I’ll have to get some good shots of the foyer area later.

Coat: Gap – Similar; Top: Gap – Similar; Jeans: Target – Similar; Scarf: Old Navy; Socks: Francesca’s; Boots: Target; Bracelet: Christchurch, NZ, street market

Today’s the first super rainy day of the new year, which is kind of exciting.

I mean, I really hate being out in the rain. If you didn’t know that, you probably don’t know me that well. When it’s raining, I would much, much, much rather stay inside, hang out, watch movies, drink coffee, do some writing, etc. Also, probably take a nap should be in there, too.

Anything except be out in the rain. Fortunately, it stopped raining in the late morning and it’s been about sixty the rest of the day. It’s looking a little grim for tonight, but I don’t have plans to go anywhere, so I’m really not that worried about it.

Things are still really bad in Christchurch. If you can, please go donate to the Red Cross effort in NZ. I know it’s hard to put together an effort for all of the things going on in the world right now, but even $5-10 helps. They find people days, up to about a week, after they’ve been buried alive in rubble. There are still hundreds missing, and they could still be out there.

I feel a little weird having such smiley pictures while I talk about such a sad thing. But just know that this does mean a lot to me, and if I could be there right now helping, I would.

My mom did take my pictures today – that’s why there are several “artsy” sideways shots. They didn’t turn out half bad, though.
This is also the inaugural day for those boots. They were fantastic and I felt preppy walking around in houndstooth rain boots. I liked it.
And by the way, I’m completely obsessed with those pink socks. They were one of those risky purchases I wasn’t quite sure about, but I wear them all of the time and they’re fantastic. We’re almost out of long-sock weather, so I’m trying to get as much mileage out of them as I can right now.
6 thoughts on “day 55. six/thirty. rain, rain, go away.

  1. Maybe that’s what we should call the entry way to the house – the mall. It is such an interesting arrangement of mirrors, marble, wooden beams, clerestory glass, etched glass, ceiling to floor windows, granite tiles, fountain, skylights, planters and plants! One friend said standing there looking around was “like being in a fun house.” Hey, there’s another suggestion! But words like foyer just don’t seem right. It’s such a big space (26 feet x 28 feet). Mall may be it!

  2. I like these pictures!

    I LOVE rain- the sound of it, the smell of it… The best way to enjoy it though is from the balcony with a drink and a book or something. And a sweater if it’s chilly.

    As an incorrigible wearer-of-flats, I don’t like getting out in the rain, because my feet are soaked upon the first misstep. Every storm we have (rain OR snow) I consider buying rain boots. EVERY other female in this city has at least one pair; my sister has like 5.

  3. I am so glad you wear jeggings (or skinny jeans) – They are my wardrobe staple.

    you are so completely and naturally beautiful and your style and words are so bailey. I can hear you talking when i read this, and i love that.

    missss you.

Comments are closed.