day 54. five/thirty. GRE prepster.

Top: Old Navy; Jeggings: Francesca’s; Boots: Target; Belt: Had it forever; Scarf: Thanks mom!; Bracelet: Christchurch, NZ, street market

I took the GRE this afternoon. I forgot that I signed up for the 1:00 time, and it was only last night when I looked at the email that had the testing center address in it that I realized I was taking it in the afternoon rather than in the morning. Good thing I didn’t have to be there at 8, right?

I found this shirt recently at Old Navy, and fell in love. I don’t know what it is with me and nautical stripes lately, but I can’t seem to get enough of them. Good thing they’re in season this year, right?

This is also my first foray into actual photos of me wearing my jeggings. I used to be a hater (it’s a dictionary word now, check it), but then I realized that they’re like jeans, but also like being comfortable all the time without even trying. And the best part is that most people don’t realize they aren’t jeans, if you get the right kind.

Even the guy at the testing center today asked me to turn out my pants pockets, to make sure I wasn’t hiding notes, I guess, and I had to tell him they were leggings, not jeans, and I didn’t have any pockets. That conversation was kind of awkward. But I was comfortable for the four hours of the test, that’s for sure. And that’s what counts in my book.

There hasn’t been as much text in my blogs since I started the 30×30. Does that bother you at all? I’ve realized over the past couple of days that one of the things that really does make me happiest is feeling put together every day, and having evidence of that makes me feel good about myself. I don’t know, maybe you think I look ridiculous. Who knows?

After all, a picture’s worth a thousand words, right? So this post technically has at least 6,000 words. I wish you could see how hard I’m rolling my eyes at myself right now. Cliches are the devil’s work.

I just don’t want you to think that I’m slacking, or that I’m losing interest. Because that’s not the case at all. Fashion blogging is something I’ve wanted to try my hand at for a while now – not because I think I’m super fashionable, but because I think I dress comparably to other street style bloggers on a regular basis, and I thought it would be fun to jump into that world for a little while.

And believe me, it has been fun.

I’m also trying out new poses in my pictures. Some of them are a little silly. Today, they’re mostly tame, because these pictures were the last thing I did today and I’m exhausted and I really just wanted to fugghedaboutit and go to bed, but I knew I had a responsibility to you, dear readers.

PS Do you like the redone blog header? Rachel Whitaker noticed how sad and pixelated it was, and she used her computer magic to make it a million times better. I can’t thank her enough – it really needed some help. As does the rest of the blog, but that’s going to have to wait until at least the weekend, if not until next week. I don’t know. At least I have a good header!

This is going to have to be a short post, because I have to wake up early to take my car in to get an estimate for the wreck damage. And it’s downtown, which means fighting rush hour traffic to get there. Yuck.

You should comment. Because I get a decent number of hits, but no comments. I don’t care if I know you in real life or not. Comments are what keep blogs going, or didn’t we learn anything from Gawkerpocalypse?

