day 53. four/thirty.

We’ll start this one off with a funny picture. I was setting up PhotoBooth in the living room, getting ready to go outside, and my dog Phoebe jumped up on the couch behind me. I thought it might be cute to take a picture with her. So this is me, my right hand holding the laptop and my left hand waving around above the iSight, trying to get her to look at the camera.

Clearly, she knew what was up.

This is one of my favorite outfits so far, imagined or put together. I bought this shirt a few days ago at LOFT, and I’ve been dying to start mixing it up.

And hooray for outside pictures! It was a pretty nice day outside, so I thought I would try and get some natural light for my photos. I know the quality still isn’t there, but…it’s getting there, right? I really just need to suck it up and buy a new camera next time I get paid. Since I’m not shopping on my 30×30 (you know, since that’s one of the rules), I’m hoping that’ll save me some money. A camera might be a worthwhile purchase, though.

Top: LOFT; Dress: Charlotte Russe; Belt: Francesca’s; Necklace: Francesca’s: Sunglasses: Target; Bracelet: Christchurch, NZ street market; Boots: Target

There is one thing that’s been on my mind for the past day or so. There was a 6.3 earthquake in Christchurch, New Zealand, yesterday. I don’t know if all of you know this, but that might be literally – literally – my favorite place in the entire world. We stopped there for a few days on our study abroad a few years ago (2007? really? that long ago?), and I fell in love with it.

The damage has been extensive and there have been deaths. They’re rebuilding, but as everyone knows, getting out of a natural disaster is one of the most difficult things a country could have to do.

“Christchurch, today is the day your comeback begins,” Prime Minister John Key said. “While nature has taken much from you, it cannot take your survivor spirit.”

So say a prayer for NZ. There are a lot of crazy, history-making moments in the world right now, and everyone needs thoughts and prayers, but this moment really spoke to my heart right now. That’s why I’m wearing my bracelet today, in remembrance of everything going on there right now.

And finally, this last picture is where I scraped my knee along the top of a cast-iron gate my parents have leaning up against that brick wall. Ouch!

One thought on “day 53. four/thirty.

  1. I’m sorry you scraped your knee but that’s hilarious. PHOBOE IS SO CUTE and I love that shirt!!!

Comments are closed.