day 45.

Guys, I am getting so many spam comments right now. I don’t know what that means I’m doing wrong, but at the same time it makes me feel like a real blogger, that I’m getting so many of them. Is that weird? I think it might be. Oh well.

Remember that time I said I was going to start my 30 for 30 this week? Well. Obviously that didn’t happen. We’ve had a sudden sweep of very warm weather – you know, a week after Snowpocalypse and Snowpocalypse 2.0 – and I’m trying to decide if the things I picked are really the things I want. I’m just worried that it’s going to start being above 50 every day, and all of these clothes I picked out for sub-40 Oklahoma temperatures are going to be all wrong and it’s not going to work. Ugh. I guess I could just look at the weather forecats forecast. Sometimes I love typos.

Today’s been kind of a slow day, too, but it was good because it was warm outside and I did not have to wear a jacket or a huge coat. Well, I mean, maybe I should have worn a jacket. It was a little chilly before class this morning. But it was fine. I didn’t freeze to death, so whatever.

I do have a little bit of sad news today. It’s about this little goober.

His name is Lucky, and I’m pretty sure he’s the reason I became a dog person. I used to be a cat person, but he converted me. He is the sweetest, most excitable, cutest tiny dog ever. Seriously, if you haven’t met him, I can’t explain how much he likes to jump and wiggle around and just generally enjoy life. He’s a dachshund-poodle mix and weighs 15 pounds, according to the vet yesterday.

It’s really hard to take pictures of small dogs when they’re sitting on your lap. In case you haven’t tried it and you were curious.

Also according to the vet yesterday, he threw out his back this weekend. I’m having trouble finding the balance between how adorable and how horrible that is. He has, I think, a slipped disc and a few pinched nerves in his spine. There’s something else, too, but I can’t remember what it is. I’m sure someone will let me know (Dad, looking at you).

The vet said that with the proper care, he’ll recover. Eight out of ten dogs do. But he has to be basically on bedrest for the next six weeks. Six weeks! That’s until early April, best case scenario. And he has to live in his own kennel, no interaction with the other three dogs (all his relations – story for another time), and be carried to eat and go to the bathroom.

This is very sad for a dog like Lucky, who prefers to spend his time jumping around and having fun. So just keep him in your thoughts. I feel kind of silly asking for good thoughts for my dog, but this is really, really sad for him. And for the rest of my family.

But on the brighter side, this happened earlier:

2 thoughts on “day 45.

  1. Baby Lucky. Seriously, if we have some time, maybe Dr. Parker can just look him over. He’s coming through town Saturday!

    I’m glad he has your lap to sit in. Make sure he gets extra treats and ice cubes and toys in his sad kennel!

Comments are closed.